John Carpenter Saw ‘Barbie’ But Claims He “Missed” The Plot’s “Patriarchy Business”: “Right Over My Head”

Where to Stream:

Barbie (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

John Carpenter may know the horror genre inside and out, but when it came to Barbie, he was at a loss.

The 75-year-old director told The Los Angeles Times that he hadn’t “been to a movie in a while,” but ” see[s] them at [his] house,” and revealed he watched Greta Gerwig‘s billion-dollar blockbuster, despite the film not fitting within his own “generation.”

“I had nothing to do with Barbie dolls,” he told the outlet. “I didn’t know who Allan was.”

However, the massive hype behind this summer’s popular pink motion picture wasn’t kenough for him to grasp.

“I mean, I can sum it up,” he explained. “She says, ‘I don’t have a vagina,’ and then at the end, ‘I’m going to go to a gynecologist!’ That’s the movie to me.”

While he highlighted that “there’s a patriarchy business in there,” he claimed he “missed that whole thing.”

“Right over my head,” he continued. “But I think she’s fabulous, Margot Robbie.”

Margot Robbie in 'Barbie'
Photo: Everett Collection

Known for his work crafting and composing horror classics like the Halloween film franchise, Carpenter may have been out of his comfort zone watching Gerwig’s film.

However, many others in the industry have praised the film. Marc Maron raved that “the comedy about men is inspired,” while Amy Schumer, who was set to star in the film under director Diablo Cody, said that she “really enjoyed” the film.

According to IndieWire, other directors have gushed about the movie as well, including Richard Linklater, who “really liked the movie a lot” and watched it multiple times.

Barbie is available to rent for $24.99 or buy for $29.99 on Prime Video.