Former ‘View’ Panelist Meghan McCain Says She Doesn’t “Have Time” To Watch The Show, Likens It To “Looking At An Ex-Boyfriend’s Instagram”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Following former panelist Meghan McCain‘s turbulent exit from The View in 2021, she’s putting the program in the past. In fact, she claimed she doesn’t “watch it at all.”

Speaking to The Messenger about her new Citizen Cain Productions company and her podcast Meghan McCain Has Entered The Chat — which is slated to launch on Oct. 17 — McCain blamed her lack of viewing partially on her own “lifestyle.”

“I don’t have time to watch this kind of content,” she said. “I do listen to a lot of podcasts. And you know, it’s kind of like looking at an ex-boyfriend’s Instagram, it’s just not great for you. So no, I don’t watch.”

However, one aspect she misses from sitting at the Hot Topics table was not necessarily the people she sat alongside, but some people behind the scenes.

“I still miss the wardrobe people,” she explained. “I just love getting dressed up. So I miss the wardrobe people the most and they’re very kind. They have been the wardrobe people the entire history of the show.”

In terms of her former co-hosts, McCain has not shied away from expressing her own views, previously deeming the show a “toxic work environment” and calling her replacement Alyssa Farah Griffin‘s father a “very famous homophobe and racist,” despite reiterating that she doesn’t know Griffin at all.

Meghan McCain
photo: ABC

Most recently, she slammed the show in a column for The Daily Mail, penning that “there is nothing on God’s green earth that could convince me to ever walk on to that set again.”

In terms of her upcoming ventures, she told Variety in an interview published today that “the inspiration” for her new podcast comes from “what [she’s] talking about on [her] group chats all day,” and that she intends to foster a calmer environment than the screaming matches sparked on The View.

“I have been a guest on so many shows where I have felt uncomfortable, places where I have felt disrespected,” she said. “I’ve had a lot of wonderful experiences on TV, but I’ve had a lot of negative ones. I really look forward to interviewing people in a way that I think can be productive.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.