Will Smith Speaks Out In Support Of Jada Pinkett Smith For The First Time Since News Of Their Separation: “I Am Going To Show Up For Her… For The Rest Of My Life”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

After trolling his fans with a fake “official statement” regarding the hubbub surrounding his marriage to Jada Pinkett Smith, Will Smith finally shared some touching words about his wife after attending a promotional event for her book in Baltimore.

During an appearance at the Enoch Pratt Free Library to promote Pinkett Smith’s new memoir Worthy, Smith took to the stage and spoke on the state of his rekindled marriage to his wife, which he called a “sloppy public experiment in unconditional love.”

“I just really wanted to come out and just be here and hold it down for you the way you have held it down for me,” he said, per the Baltimore Banner. “We have had a very, very long and tumultuous [relationship].” He joked that they sometimes call it “brutiful,” meaning brutal and beautiful. 

This is the first time he’s spoken out since Pinkett Smith revealed the couple were secretly separated and living apart for years until they recently rekindled their marriage. They are now planning to move back in together and are in “the most beautiful place,” according to recent statements from Pinkett Smith.

Smith was in attendance at her book talk along with their children, Jaden Smith and Willow Smith, as well as Trey Smith, his son from a previous marriage.

Jada Pinkett Smith and Will Smith
Photo: ABC

His touching speech continued, “As I stand here before you today, I am happier than I’ve ever been in my entire life. I have achieved every single thing I have ever wanted in my entire life. There is not one thing left that I desire in this world — all of the awards, all of the money, the family — everything I’ve ever dreamed.”

He said he owed it all to his wife.

“And those dreams were largely built on the foundation of Jada’s sacrifices,” Will said. “There were many times when Jada put her career aside so I could follow the dreams of mine.”

Will concluded his speech by saying, “Jada is the best friend I have ever had on this planet and I am going to show up for her and support her for the rest of my life.”

His emotional statements echo what Pinkett Smith said during her recent appearance on Today With Hoda & Jenna, where she clarified that they were working on getting back together.

“I will never leave Will’s side. Ever,” she told the Today hosts, before adding that they were trying to rebuild their relationship into “something new.” 

“I worked so hard to dismantle all the romanticism, and I just want to love Will as he is,” she stated. “I don’t want to put him in any boxes, and I don’t want to be put in a box. And, let me tell you, it’s been beautiful.”