Pink Reveals She “Almost Died” Of An Overdose Before Signing Her First Record Deal In New ‘60 Minutes’ Interview: “I Was Off The Rails”

Where to Stream:

60 Minutes

Powered by Reelgood

Pink is sharing a candid look back on her difficult childhood during a new interview with 60 Minutes, in which she revealed new details about her near-fatal overdose, which occurred just weeks before she signed her first record deal.

The singer said she attended a rave on Thanksgiving day in 1995 where she took “ecstasy, angel dust, crystal – all kinds of things.” She was 16 years old at the time.

“I was at a rave and I overdosed,” she said, per Page Six.

The 60 Minutes report noted that this was the last time she used “hard drugs.”

The near-fatal overdose occurred just weeks before Pink signed a record deal with LaFace Records as part of an all-girls R&B group. Though the girl group was short-lived, it got her foot in the door to launch her solo career as Pink in 2000.

She described herself as a “really difficult kid,” but went on to say those experiences helped make her a “survivor” and strengthened her to ultimately succeed in the music industry.

“I never got a record deal because I was cute,” she said. “I got a record deal because I was fiery, I had a lot to say and I had a voice.”

Pink
Photo: Tim Mosenfelder

Pink had much to share about her troubled childhood, in which she recalled using and selling drugs. She also claimed she was kicked out of her house as a teen and later dropped out of high school.

“I was a punk. I had a mouth. I had a chip on my shoulder,” she said. “Basically I grew up in a house where every day my parents were screaming at each other, throwing things. They hated each other.”

The Grammy Award-winning singer and songwriter has been open about her journey to becoming the musician she is today. During a recent appearance on The Drew Barrymore Show, Pink and Drew Barrymore bonded over the so-called “terrible decisions” they made when they were younger.

“I mean, we made it. Why did we make it? We made terrible decisions. The kids — they’re gonna be alright,” she told Barrymore at the time.

Scroll up to check out more from the 60 Minutes interview.

If you or someone you know is struggling with substance abuse, call the SAMHSA National Helpline at 1-800-662-4357.