Josh Peck Reveals To Taylor Lautner That He Was Almost Cast As Edward Cullen In ‘Twilight’: “What The F**k? Impossible!”

Where to Stream:

Twilight

Powered by Reelgood

Josh Peck revealed some shocking news when Twilight star Taylor Lautner joined him on a recent episode of his Good Guys podcast: they were almost co-stars in the blockbuster franchise.

The Drake & Josh star claimed he made it to the final four actors in the running to play Edward Cullen when he auditioned for the role.

“I remember it’s like 2006? [2007]?” Peck recalled. “They’re like, ‘Audition for this movie, Twilight, it’s based on a book and it’s going to be great.’ So I send in my tape, for Edward. A month later, I’m with my manager and he goes, ‘It’s down to you and three guys, you’re close.’”

He continued, “I’m like, ‘Really?’ I hadn’t even had a tummy tuck yet.’ I’m like, ‘There’s no way. He’s got to be so shirtless, it’s not going to happen.’”

Of course, the role eventually went to Robert Pattinson. Peck went on to tell Lautner that he couldn’t believe he was even in the running against The Batman actor after seeing the performance he delivered in Twilight.

“Spoiler alert — didn’t get it… But I remember then seeing R-Patz playing this part [and] I’m like, ‘In what fucking world were they like, okay here’s what we’re thinking: Chris Hemsworth or Stanley Tucci?'” he told Lautner. “Like what the fuck? Impossible! Impossible! So we almost worked together.”

Twilight
Photo: Summit Entertainment

“That’s amazing,” Lautner replied. “I did not know that. Holy crap.”

The franchise churned out five hit blockbuster movies, grossing $3.3 billion in the international box office. But Peck might just get another shot at playing the lead romance interest. A Twilight television series is reportedly in early development at Lionsgate.

There are no networks or writers attached to the project yet, but author Stephenie Meyer, who wrote the bestselling series, is rumored to be involved. Wyck Godfrey, one of the movie’s original producers, is also attached to the project.

With or without Twilight under his belt, Peck has continued acting since his Nickelodeon days.

He recently played a small role in Christopher Nolan‘s Oppenheimer. He also appeared in the Paramount+ reboot of iCarly, and appeared in How I Met Your Father.