Kelly Ripa Roasts Mark Consuelos On ‘Live’ For Ordering Her “A Giant Piece Of Halibut” Although She’s “Pretty Much A Known Vegetarian”: “This Man Has No Idea Who I Am”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa might be a vegetarian, but she and Mark Consuelos had some borderline beef on this morning’s episode of Live with Kelly and Mark.

Ripa roasted her husband of “almost three decades,” claiming that “this man has no idea” who she is after he ordered her “a giant piece of halibut” at an event they attended on Friday night (Oct. 27).

“Halibut!” she exclaimed. “I’m pretty much a known vegetarian. Except for [when I’ll] occasionally have a piece of steak, you know that, but he ordered me the halibut.”

She noted that he didn’t think to order her either one of the vegetarian options (quinoa or eggplant), despite Consuelos ordering the latter for himself.

However, Consuelos wasn’t going to let Ripa’s story stand without defending himself.

“See, I’m so glad I’m here!” he told the Live audience. “I’m so glad I’m here, because usually I’m in Vancouver or off somewhere else and I would let these fake news stories just continue.”

He clarified that “there was no ordering” at the event and that the servers “brought a slab of fish for everybody.”

“There were no choices,” he alleged. “The whole room had fish! It smelled like fish!”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

Ripa refuted his story, insisting that she “was the only person with fish at [their] table,” which Consuelos claimed “was not true.”

“Everybody had fish except for me and Hamilton, because I made such a face, and the lady said, ‘You don’t want that?’ And I go, ‘Is there anything else?’ And she goes, ‘I think I may be able to find some eggplant.’ And I go, ‘I would love one!'” he recalled, to which Ripa replied, “And so would my wife, the vegetarian!”

However, Consuelos argued that he “didn’t want to be fussy.”

“There was a thousand people in the room, I wanted to be agreeable!” he added. “I said, ‘Oh, that would be so nice!’ Because she said, ‘Maybe I can get you an eggplant,’ and the eggplant came, and I said, ‘Would you like some, honey?’ And you said, ‘No.'”

Ripa noted that she wanted her own eggplant, and thought that her husband “would have loved a piece of halibut the size of wedding cake,” but Consuelos said that “cod and halibut are not [his] thing.”

Additionally, his order might have been more of a guessing game than Ripa initially believed.

“To be fair, [the server] said, ‘Eggclamp (eggplant), and Kih-no-ah’ (quinoa), and I go, ‘Bring me the eggclamp!'” Consuelos shared. “Bring it, I don’t know what it is! And I’m not sure what the ‘kih-no-ah’ is, but I’m gonna find out!”

Ripa revealed she settled the score by only letting him have a bite of her cake.

“You could have had the whole cake if you had just ordered me ‘eggclamp!'” she quipped.

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.