Michael J. Fox Reveals He ‘Almost Lost’ His Hand After Unfortunate Fall

Where to Stream:

Still

Powered by Reelgood

Michael J. Fox has revealed a slew of misfortunate medical events that he went through, including almost losing his hand to an infection.

The 62-year-old actor told Town and Country that he underwent spinal tumor surgery in 2018. After he was finally able to walk again, he tripped and fell in his kitchen, sustaining a broken arm.

“I said, ‘F–k lemonade. I’m out of the lemonade business.’ That was nothing,” said Fox, adding that since that incident he has broken his other arm and shoulder, smashed his orbital bone and cheek and broken his hand. “My hand got infected and then I almost lost it. It was a tsunami of misfortune.”

Fox, who is married with four adult children, was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease in 1991 and battles with his health everyday. He says despite his medical woes he fears “anything that would put his family in jeopardy” the most.

“One day I’ll run out of gas,” the Back to the Future star explained. “One day I’ll just say, ‘It’s not going to happen. I’m not going out today.’ If that comes, I’ll allow myself that. I’m 62 years old. Certainly, if I were to pass away tomorrow, it would be premature, but it wouldn’t be unheard of.”

Fox has been open about his struggles with his Parkinson’s disease and has shared how progressively difficult it has been.

“My life is set up so I can pack Parkinson’s along with me if I have to,” he told CBS Sunday Mornings in an April interview. “Yeah, it’s banging on the door. Yeah, I mean, I’m not gonna lie. It’s gettin’ hard, it’s gettin’ harder. It’s gettin’ tougher. Every day it’s tougher. But that’s the way it is.”

He continued to explain how he’s able to cope with his diagnosis.

“You don’t die from Parkinson’s. You die with Parkinson’s,” said Fox at the time. “So, I’ve been thinking about the mortality of it. … I’m not gonna be 80. I’m not gonna be 80.”

Fox released his own documentary in May titled Still, which detailed his acting career and 30-year battle with Parkinson’s.

“I decided to create this documentary for a couple reasons, first bringing awareness to this disease has been very important to me for years and I wanted to continue that work through film,” Fox told Us Weekly in March. “The second is for my fans. They, along with my family, [have] been the reason I have been able to go on. As I say, my fans gave me life and I wanted to be open about mine.”