Kelly Clarkson And Jenna Bush Hager Bond Over Their Struggles With Weight: “I Don’t Think You Know What Chubby Is”

Where to Stream:

The Kelly Clarkson Show

Powered by Reelgood

Jenna Bush Hager and her twin sister, Barbara Pierce Bush, joined Kelly Clarkson for a recent episode of her talk show to discuss their new book, Love Comes First.

But Clarkson couldn’t resist from sharing a throwback photo of the twins from their childhood, prompting a hilariously candid discussion about their young “chubby” phases.

“I want to show this photo because it’s adorable,” Clarkson told them. “Do you remember this photo?”

Jenna remarked that she and her sister “were chubby” when they were younger, to which Clarkson strongly disagreed.

“Well, we were. Not there, but I was,” Jenna replied.

Clarkson joked, “I was like, I don’t think you know what chubby was.”

Jenna then turned to her sister and asked if she was “chubby” growing up, to which Barbara responded, “No.”

“You can’t ask her that!” Clarkson responded. “She’s not gonna be like, ‘You were a chub club.'”

Jenna and Barbara Bush on The Kelly Clarkson Show
Photo: NBC

After Jenna persistently asked if she was “chubby” growing up, Barbara later confirmed it and acknowledged that “there was a stage.”

“I’ve had stages,” Clarkson responded. “I’ve had many stages, actually.”

She continued, “I love losing weight, but here’s the thing: Jeans are so hard when you have a butt and a smaller waist.”

Jenna had the perfect solution, and offered to take Clarkson shopping for jeans, though the singer turned shut it down. “Shall I do what I do for Hoda [Kotb] and send you some jeans?” Jenna offered.

“I don’t want to go shopping,” Clarkson admitted. She later concluded their hilarious conversation, saying, “This is a first world problem.”

The Kelly Clarkson Show airs on weekdays. Check the website for local listings.