Alex Trebek’s Wife Jean Shares An Emotional Letter On The Third Anniversary Of His Death: “Thank You For Being My Hero”

Where to Stream:

Jeopardy

Powered by Reelgood

Jean Trebek is honoring the legacy of her late husband Alex Trebek.

In a letter published by People on Wednesday (Nov. 8) — which marked the three-year anniversary of the former Jeopardy! host’s death from pancreatic cancer, — Jean spoke of the immense impact that her husband of 30 years had on her and the world.

“Alex, Every day (actually, several times a day) I think about you and recognize how you continue to inspire me,” she penned. “Regularly, you would say to me, ‘I see you.’ I hope you know, that I saw you too.”

Noticing how he “talked and listened to people,” she noted how he was “present and curious about what people were doing and going through in their lives.”

“I loved that you took an interest in their backgrounds and their circumstances,” she wrote. “I saw how you were comfortable in talking to anyone…from a famed politician to our wonderful gardener.”

Recognizing “how important that quality is,” she highlighted that she is “blessed to have had a husband whose words carried his truth and integrity.”

“I saw how important it was for you to help people,” she added. “I remember you being upset about a situation, so you got involved. I was proud that you were actually, “love in action” and that this proactive quality always benefited someone.”

Alex Trebek and Jean Trebek
Photo: Getty Images

Jean then reflected on her “favorite times” with Alex, which she said were some of the “more simple” moments they shared. These included when they “would drive up to our home in Paso Robles and watch the Lakers game together,” receiving “unexpected” calls from Alex while he was “far away on a remote location,” and coming home to “a really elegant salmon dish with asparagus (perfectly done) along with chocolate mousse,” prepared by Alex himself.

“Now on my own, I realize how important it is to think for myself,” she explained. “You demonstrated this so brilliantly, too. In a world with so much noise, somehow you were able to listen to what was right and true for you. I have come to value this within myself, now more than ever, and I have you to thank for being an intrepid and superb example.”

She continued to thank her husband for “teaching [her] backgammon,” sending her “love notes,” and most importantly, for being her “hero.”

“You are forever in my heart,” she concluded.

Last week, Jean launched the Alex Trebek Fund in partnership with Stand Up To Cancer as “a way for the community that loved him to put resources directly into the hands of scientists working tirelessly to fight a disease shrouded by many unknowns.”

“He was a man that really loved to know things and stayed very curious,” Jean said in a statement. “Since Alex was all about the right answer, I think it’s very fitting that this fund is now established in his name.”