Wynnona Judd Responds To Fan Concern Over Her Unusually Shaky CMA Awards Performance: “I Was So Freaking Nervous”

Wynonna Judd is clearing the air after fans expressed concern over her CMA Awards performance on Wednesday night (Nov. 8). According to the country music singer, she was “so freaking nervous” to open the annual award show.

In a surprise appearance, Judd joined Jelly Roll on stage to sing his song “Need a Favor.” However, fans quickly noticed that something was “off” about Judd, who clutched onto Jelly Roll’s arm throughout their duet.

“This is the second time I’ve seen #WynonnaJudd a bit off. Once in concert and now the CMA’s. Hopefully she gets the help she needs,” one wrote on X, while another added, “Why [is] Wynonna Judd holding on to Jelly Roll? She didn’t look well!”

A third person posted, “I haven’t seen Wynonna Judd in a while. Good to see her but she seems like something isn’t right. Hopefully just a bad night,” before someone else asked, “What is wrong with @wynonnajudd on CMAs? She had a death grip on Jelly Roll and a deer in the headlights look on her face?”

Following the performance, Judd took to social media to clarify exactly what was going on while she was singing. After noting that she’s “read the comments,” she shared a screengrab of a headline claiming fans were “concerned” about her.

“I’m just gonna come clean with y’all. I was so freaking nervous,” she admitted. “I got out there and I looked at Jelly Roll. I wanted it to be so good for him. I could cry right now, but I’m not going to because I’m such a fan of his and he asked me to sing and I said, ‘Absolutely!’ I got out there and I was so nervous that I just held on for dear life. And that’s the bottom line.”

The musician explained that she was on her way to do another show in Texas as part of her Back to Wy Tour, before promising, “All is well!”

Judd, who lost her mother Naomi Judd in 2022, opened up to Entertainment Tonight about her more emotional performances as of late.

“I have my ups and my downs and that’s life, and I’m just telling the fans,” Judd told the outlet after she took the CMA stage. “Like the other night, I got emotional, I felt Mom. And I got overcome and I just said, ‘I need some water and I need somebody to hold onto me for a second while I take a deep breath and cry.’ And I just do it because that’s the way life is.”