Jenna Bush Hager Blames Her 2001 Arrest For Underaged Drinking On A Waitress Who “Didn’t Like My Dad”: “That Was Dumb… My Dad Was President”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Jenna Bush Hager dished to Hoda Kotb today about her 2001 arrest, when she was busted for underage drinking and using a fake ID at a restaurant.

But the Today host blamed it on the waitress serving her at the time, saying the server called the cops because “she didn’t like my dad,” referring to then-President of the United States, George W. Bush.

But, she admitted on today’s show, “To her credit, that was dumb. I mean, my dad was the president.”

Bush Hager also clarified that she was simply arrested, not detained for the infraction. She explained, “Well, I didn’t actually go to jail, I just was arrested. I wasn’t even arrested, I was never detained. I just got a minor in possession of alcohol when I was 20-years-old because I ordered a margarita at Chuy’s with a fake ID.”

Kotb was cracking up at the story, asking her co-host, “What was the name on the ID?”

Bush Hager replied, “It was a girl in my sorority. Her name is Allison, it was a real ID. But they took that thing away from me.” She added that they also cut the ID up.

Bush Hager’s arrest did not go unnoticed when it happened in 2001. According to BBC‘s report at the time, Bush Hager was dining in an Austin, Texas, restaurant with her sister Barbara when the arrest happened. Both were 19 years old at the time and students at the University of Texas and Yale University, respectively.

Jenna Bush Hager and Hoda Kotb
Photo: NBC

Bush Hager pled innocent to the charges of misrepresenting her age to buy alcohol. She was later sentenced to eight hours of community service and three months of probation.

Per the BBC, this was the second time Bush Hager had been busted for underaged drinking. She was previously ordered to attend an alcohol awareness course after she was found drinking at a bar in Austin.

“We respect the privacy of this young girl so we don’t comment on her private life,” White House spokesperson Claire Buchan said in a statement at the time.

After her second arrest, the White House described the incident as a “private family matter” and declined to comment.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.