‘Wheel Of Fortune’ Champ Says Pat Sajak Issued Him A “Stern” Warning Off-screen: “You Know This Is My Show, Right?”

Where to Stream:

Wheel of Fortune

Powered by Reelgood

It seems like Pat Sajak may miss the spotlight when he retires from Wheel of Fortune after this season.

Michael Colen, the vibrant victor of the game show’s Nov. 3 episode — who is also a math teacher and a “secret rap star” — told Fox News Digital about an alleged off-putting off-screen interaction he had with Sajak during a commercial break.

“He came up to me and just told me, ‘Hey, Michael, you know, this is my show, right?'” Colen claimed of Sajak. “And I politely said, ‘Yes, sir, it is your show for 41 years.’ So, it was funny, of course.”

However, he noted that the warning from Sajak “was stern,” telling Fox, “There was a stern drop of sternness to it.”

Deeming his alleged interaction with Sajak a “battle of wills,” Colen claimed “it was two alphas going at it.”

“I’m an acquired taste,” he continued. “And … I’ve been putting out music for 30 years, so I have to say I’m an acquired taste. So, at first it just took him a quick minute to get used to me. I had to find out where the line was.”

Decider reached out to a representative for Wheel of Fortune for comment on the alleged interaction, but did not hear back in time of publication.

Colen, who went home with $38,304, entertained viewers with his tremendous energy. Memorable moments included him dabbing after a correct guess, quipping that he’s “one of those guys” after selecting a vowel already chosen by another contestant, and even telling the actual Wheel, “All right wheel, let’s have a relationship!”

“Slow down, slow down!” he exclaimed as it approached the bankrupt wedge.

Sajak chimed in to ask, “Are you yelling at our wheel?”

Banter between he and Sajak continued after he lost the bonus puzzle round. Before revealing the answer to be “pick wisely” — Sajak teased Colen that the correct response was “something [he] didn’t do.”

“Sorry, I had to go for it,” Sajak quipped, to which Colen replied, “You did, you did.”

Highlighting that he is a “Wheel watcher” himself, Colen described the experience of playing on the show as a “like a lifelong dream.”

“I was screaming, ‘Get me on this show, man,’ for like 30 years,” he recalled to Fox. “So, I had to find out where the line was compared, and Pat just drew it for me.”

Colen claimed that he could tell Sajak “was authentically enjoying himself” on set after watching the episode.

“When I watched the episode, his laughs were hearty,” he said. “And his body language was good. So, I think everyone had a good time, including him.”

He also noted that it “meant a lot” to compete on Sajak’s final season as host, especially since he grew up with him.

“He’s quick with his wit,” he affirmed. “And with the cameras on you, it’s a whole other world, being quick. So, I really like him and learned from his wit and got to tell him.”

Although Colen “wanted to win,” he said that he really “just wanted to make America laugh.”

Wheel of Fortune airs on weeknights at 7:30/6:30c. Check out your local listings on their website.