‘Today With Hoda & Jenna’ Producer Dares Jenna Bush Hager To Shave Her Head Like Harry Styles: “Gavin, I’m Not Going To Do It!”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Harry Styles‘ controversial haircut was the talk of Today With Hoda & Jenna this morning. Co-hosts Jenna Bush Hager and Hoda Kotb praised the singer’s new style when a producer chimed in with his own daring idea of who should mimic the ‘do next.

Looking at photos of Styles’ new buzzcut, Bush Hager noted, “It shows you hair matters, but it doesn’t matter that much.”

Kotb responded, “Well, I think if you look like Harry Styles, it doesn’t matter that much.”

“Exactly, I think if I did it it would be a different story,” Bush Hager said. She then turned to someone off camera and said, “No, Gavin! Did you just hear Gavin yell, ‘Do it?'”

Kotb was not amused. “Gavin, she’s not doing it,” she said.

The Today co-hosts were speaking to senior producer Gavin Shulman, who has been with the show for many years now.

“Gavin, I’m not going to buzz it,” Bush Hager said.

Jenna Bush Hager
Photo: NBC

They continued discussing other celebrities who have gotten a similarly dramatic chops, including Chris Evans and Lenny Kravitz, when Kotb pointed out that the shape of the head is “critical” to how it turns out. She told Bush Hager, “We actually don’t know what our head shape is, you and I.”

“We know they’re large,” Bush Hager replied. “I think mine is sort of square. But who knows, and we aren’t ever gonna find out because we ain’t shaving it!”

Well, there you go, Gavin!

Kotb later revealed that she was once given a “big chop” against her will when she was young.

“I did once and it wasn’t my own doing,” she told Bush Hager. “I was young and the hair stylist thought that my hair was kinky because my hair was damaged, when really that was just the way it grew. So he thought that it would be a good idea if we just started it fresh.”

When Bush Hager asked how “fresh” it was, Kotb replied, “It was real fresh.”

It looks like we won’t be getting either Today host to shave their heads. Womp, womp.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.