Taika Waititi Admits He Directed ‘Thor: Ragnarok’ Because He Was “Poor” And Thought “This Would Be A Great Opportunity To Feed These Children”

Where to Stream:

Thor: Ragnarok

Powered by Reelgood

Thor: Ragnarok director Taika Waititi recently confessed he had a simple reason for joining the Marvel Cinematic Universe in 2017: he needed the job.

During a recent appearance on the SmartLess podcast with Jason Bateman, Will Arnett, and Sean Hayes, Waititi said he was previously not interested in directing a superhero movie before taking the job.

“I had no interest in doing one of those films,” Waititi said. “It wasn’t on my plan for my career as an auteur. But I was poor and I’d just had a second child, and I thought, ‘You know what, this would be a great opportunity to feed these children.’”

Thor: Ragnarok saw Chris Hemsworth return as the Norse god as he races to stop the end of the world. Waititi’s comedic take on the Marvel superhero made it a box office hit, guaranteeing his return for the 2022 entry Thor: Love and Thunder, which did not perform as well as its predecessor.

Since Love and Thunder‘s premiere earlier this year, Waititi has already confirmed that he will not be returning for the fifth Thor movie, which is rumored to be in the works already.

Taika Waititi Chris Hemsworth
Photo: Jasin Boland/© Marvel / © Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

“I wouldn’t know if that’s accurate,” he recently told Business Insider regarding the rumors about the series continuing after Love and Thunder. “I know that I won’t be involved… I’m going to concentrate on these other films that I’ve signed on for.”

The comedy director already has a lot on his plate. He is now promoting his new sports comedy Next Goal Wins which recently premiered in theaters, but he has a slate of projects that he is producing over the next few years.

“So that’s six, seven years gone,” he said. “I’d imagine another Thor would be a lot sooner than that. But I love Marvel, I love working with them. I love Chris.”

He joked, “I would never feel like they are cheating on me. We’re in an open relationship, and it’s like, if they want to see other people, I’m happy for that. I’d still get back into bed with them one day.”

Hemsworth has similarly expressed that he would be open to reprising his role, though he wouldn’t want to stay in the role so long that viewers “roll their eyes when they see me come on the screen as that character.”

“I’ve loved being able to reinvent that character a few times,” he told Entertainment Weekly. “I don’t have the answer yet, but I would love to try and [figure out] how we can do that again and keep it a little unpredictable.” 

For now, Marvel fans can catch up on Hemsworth and Waititi’s work on Disney+, where the Thor series is currently streaming.