Tiffany Haddish Jokes About Her DUI Arrest Just Hours After Her Release: “I Prayed To God To Send Me A Man With A Job, Preferably In A Uniform”

Where to Stream:

Haunted Mansion (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Tiffany Haddish appeared to address her DUI arrest just hours after her release while appearing at The Laugh Factory this weekend.

The comedian and Haunted Mansion star was asked about her arrest by an audience member, according to audio obtained by TMZ. She had been arrested early that morning after police found her asleep behind the wheel of her car around 5:45 a.m. local time.

She had been performing at The Laugh Factory’s 43rd annual Thanksgiving feast in L.A. the night before, and returned to The Laugh Factory in Long Beach the next evening.

“What happened last night?” Haddish said. “Ah, damn. You tell me. I don’t know.”

She then joked that it was God’s way of answering her “prayers.”

“I prayed to God to send me a man with a job, preferably in a uniform,” she said. “God answered my prayers because God believes in me.”

This is her second DUI arrest. After the first arrest in 2022, Haddish made a similar joke during an appearance on The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon.

Tiffany Haddish
Photo: Matt Winkelmeyer

“I can say this, Jimmy… I’ve been praying to God to send me a new man. A good man. And God went ahead and sent me four… in uniform,” she told Jimmy Fallon.

She had been arrested in Peachtree, Georgia, in January 2022 after police received a call reporting someone asleep behind the wheel. The police reportedly believed she was under the influence of marijuana at the time.

Haddish told Fallon during her appearance, “And now I got a really great lawyer, and we’re going to work it out. I’ve got to get my asking of things to God a little better!”

She reportedly refused to take a breathalyzer test, resulting in her immediate arrest. She was in town at the time to film Haunted Mansion.

The comedian is expected to appear in court Dec. 4 in connection to her 2022 arrest.