Queue And A

‘Virgin River’s Showrunner Breaks Down Season 5’s Biggest Storylines, From Mel’s Miscarriage To Those Stressful Cliffhangers

Where to Stream:

Virgin River

Powered by Reelgood

Five seasons into its super successful streaming run, Netflix‘s Virgin River — the popular romantic drama based on Robyn Carr’s beloved book series — switched things up a bit.

While the latest 12 episodes told stories about the same small town and charming characters fans have grown to love over the past five years, in addition to premiering in two separate parts, Season 5 welcomed a new showrunner, Patrick Sean Smith.

Smith, who created ABC Family’s 2007 college dramedy Greek and served as an executive producer on the 2014 series Chasing Life, previously worked with Netflix on Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings. So as a fan of Virgin River himself, when previous showrunner and creator Sue Tenney decided to move on to other projects, he was honored to take the reins.

“I think one of the many things that has worked in the favor of the show is how grounded it’s been emotionally,” Smith told Decider in a Zoom interview ahead of Season 5, Part 2’s two-episode drop. “That’s one of the reasons I was excited to come in on the show was just the opportunity to tell real character stories in a deep, thoughtful, meaningful way.”

Alexandra Breckenridge as Mel and Martin Henderson as Jack on 'Virgin River'
Photo: Netflix

In Season 5, Part 1’s 10 episodes, which premiered back in September, Smith and the Virgin River crew explored ambitious storylines related to loss, health issues, a massive drug operation, a sexual assault trial, a surprise biological parent, devastating wildfires that upended the town, and more. Season 5, Part 2 dialed down the drama to celebrate the holidays. But after the halls were decked, the peppermint bark was devoured (by Jack), and snow covered the town, Smith left viewers with more questions, concerns, and cliffhangers ahead of Season 6.

“I feel like I learned a lot just from breaking the stories, writing the stories, working with the actors producing the show and then having the audience feedback for Season 5,” the showrunner explained. “I just want to put all of that to the best use possible to continue to make the show the best show possible.”

Once you’re caught up on Virgin River‘s cozy holiday episodes, read on to see what Smith had to say about Season 5’s biggest shocks (Mel’s heartbreaking miscarriage), fresh faces (John Allen Nelson’s Everett Reid), and nail-biting cliffhangers (Brady’s fate). Plus, he teases Season 6, shares hopes for the future series, and even considers a potential Sullivan’s Crossing crossover.

Decider: Before we dive into Part 2 I wanted to ask about a Part 1 storyline that didn’t go over very well with fans: Mel’s miscarriage. I think the show does a really great job raising awareness on pregnancy loss, fertility challenges, and crucial women’s health issues that we don’t see on-screen often. Why do you feel that miscarriage storyline was necessary?

Patrick Sean Smith: I think the show is an interesting balance of romance fantasy and reality. And I think that one of the many things that has worked in the favor of the show is how grounded it’s been emotionally. And that’s one of the reasons I was excited to come in on the show was just the opportunity to tell real character stories in a deep, thoughtful, meaningful way. When you have a cast as incredible as this cast, that can pull it off as beautifully as they do, it’s kind of like you’re given the keys to a Maserati. And you better know how to drive it well because it’s a gift what you have. So coming into Season 5, before I came onto the show I talked with the network about exploring Mel and Jack experiencing a miscarriage together and they were on board with it. I talked to Alex and Martin about it and we were very, very thoughtful about it. We were very respectful with the fans, and the moment where Mel and Jack found out they were pregnant and what that meant for their characters, but considering she had so many complications before and then her pregnancy with Jack happens so quickly and easily just really rang inauthentic to me. And it just felt like because the show has tackled women’s health issues in such an intentional way that it felt right to have that storyline play in Season 5.

Alexandra Breckenridge as Mel Monroe, Martin Henderson as Jack Sheridan in 'Virgin River'
Photo: Netflix

Also looking at that coupled with the wildfires — a town going through something emotional while a couple is going through something similar of loss and grief and rebuilding and rebirth. So those were always the elements that I was excited about in exploring Season 5. It was never with the intention of wanting the show to become dark or sad. But it felt like a way to explore something even meaningful for this couple and see how they can come through it together in a way that Mel’s previous marriage suffered because of it, and that Mark couldn’t handle it. But with Jack being the man that he is, he stands by no side the entire time and for that they’re both better for it. So that was always my intention.

Another potential tragedy teased in Season 5 is the progression of Doc’s macular degeneration. Sort of like Mel’s miscarriage, obviously viewers want the clinical trial to work out for him. But as he noted, there’s still this risk that he could lose his sight. When it comes to big decisions like that does a balance of happy ending versus realistic ending weigh on you with this show?

I guess I’m always looking for a fulfilling ending, less happy — which implies an ending, ending — or one that’s realistic that might feel too harsh. I think I’m always trying to find what feels fulfilling in the journey of it as opposed to just the finish line and looking at, you know, something like Doc’s eyesight: What would it look like? Do you want to live in that with that character? Do we feel like that character needs to go on that journey? And if he doesn’t, then we don’t do it. So it’s really very, very thoughtful in these decisions.

Another major Part 2 development is that Charmaine, after 84 years of pregnancy, finally had her twins. Hats off to the writers for having Lauren say, “I feel like I’ve been pregnant for years.” I loved her owning it.

[Laughs] I know. It was so fun to — I can’t remember how it came up, but it was like, “Oh, that definitely has to go in that episode.”

Photo: Netflix

We learned this season that Calvin is the father. Can fans expect to see more of his dynamic with Charmaine in Season 6?

I think we’re definitely going to explore more of that as we kind of promise in the holiday episode and in the promise that Mel made with Charmaine, which was to be by her side in this situation where she’s not interested in having a relationship with Calvin, which complicates their co-parenting obviously. So it’s definitely something we’ll explore in Season 6.

Speaking of unexpected couples, I want to bring up one of my favorites: Muriel and Cameron. I’ve written a lot about a recent rise in senior love stories on TV with shows like The Golden Bachelor, Shrinking, Severance, and more. But I feel like even before Cam and Muriel’s pairing, seniors were always very prevalent and ingrained in Virgin River with the sewing circle ladies and Doc and Hope’s marriage. Why is it important to you to spotlight rich senior relationships, be it friendships or romance?

To your point, it’s just not on the television landscape now. And to have the opportunity in a show like this, where that population suits the small town feel and the history of people who’ve lived in this place for a long time, and know each other, and have history is fun to explore when you’re telling these character’s stories. I was proud of a lot of what we did in Season 5, but I was really proud of the sewing circle at the spa episode, because it just felt like we got to explore more of their perspectives on life and how they relate to each other outside of sitting in the bar sewing and gossiping. So I would love to do more of that. And also to continue to explore more of Doc and Hope’s relationship and see it as something that is still very vibrant. It’s fun to touch on their sex lives and how that’s still exciting for them. And I think it’s exciting for the audience, as opposed to looking at characters who already put themselves out to pasture. I don’t think that’s too fun to watch, and if nobody else is doing it, then I would love for our show to be the one stop shop for it.

Teryl Rothery as Muriel St. Claire, Mark Ghanime as Dr. Cameron Hayek in 'Virgin River'
Photo: Netflix

Season 5, Part 2 also focused on Mel’s search for her father. How did you settle on him being an unfamiliar face versus someone fans already knew? Was an alternative ever on the table?

In the beginning, when we started to explore the storyline, we thought about the obvious one being Doc. But he was already such an important part of her life as a surrogate father, that the idea of attaching biology to it felt unnecessary. And then looking at the other characters, they all kind of already came with their own story or their own baggage. So bringing in somebody new, we anticipate for Season 6, would be able to create a new dynamic in the character relationships not just with Mel but with other people in the town

I’m a little scared about his ominous final line. Is he dying? Does Mel have a half sibling? Does he just want to say, “I have something important to tell you…I won the 1976 Lumberjack Games?”

[Laughs] One of the jokes — the one that I kept coming to in the room — was, “I have something important to tell you. Your mother’s alive…in your heart.”

[Laughs] In my letters.

Yes! In these letters that I’m about to give to you. [Laughs] But no, it’s definitely a bit of a bombshell for their relationship and it’s something that informs a lot of what’s happening in Season 6.

John Allen Nelson as Everett Reid on 'Virgin River'
Photo: Netflix

I have to ask about my favorite couple. Well, they’re not a couple anymore. Thanks, Sean! [Laughs] No offense to Mike, he seems perfectly nice and stable at the moment, but I am Team Brady, so it was delightful to see him and Brie really get their flirt on in Part 2? Is there any hope for them (and me)?

[Laughs] There’s always hope for Brie and Brady. Their bond is strong. Their chemistry is undeniable. So they’re definitely a couple that I think we want to continue to root for as long as we can.

Yes we do. Related, I was screaming at my TV when we learned that Lark — who, by the way I never trusted —

Really? I love that, because some people are just like, “She seems so genuine and nice!”

Yeah, you’re not fooling me, an original Brady stan. In that cliffhanger it seems like not only does Lark share Hazel with Jimmy, but they’re also planning some sort of Brady takedown? How could you do this to me? This man needs a break! He’s trying so hard to be good and the world is not letting him.

That’s what’s so tragic and wonderful about Brady. He’s a guy who’s broken and has come from a really rough life and is trying to do the best that he can and is running into the limitations of his experience. I was excited for Season 5 to feel a little bit like a redemption story for his character after so many seasons of him just making wrong choices and kind of letting people down. And now that there’s this threat, it’s a question of how Brady’s going to react. Is he still going to continue to be the guy that’s on the up and up or is he going to go back to Shady Brady?

Oh, I love Shady Brady.

I took it from the book. I give all credit to Robyn Carr, but I especially give her that one.

Ben Hollingsworth as Brady on 'Virgin River'
Photo: Netflix

Well I saw on Instagram post-strike that the writers’ room is back in action. Are you able to share any updates on Season 6?

We’re scheduled to write through the end of the year. We’re trying to get back into production as quickly as possible, but I don’t have any firm dates on that yet.

Will there be another time jump?

There will be a time jump. I can’t say how much of one, but we will not begin on December 26.

Will there be a wedding? Or can you not even blink in response to this question?

I cannot. No comment.

Interesting. And do you have any thoughts on the two-part season? Would you be open to another one?

I would, yeah. I mean, I think it’s a good way to kind of parse out a little bit of the season. I think if it works out creatively and it makes sense to break it up in a way that still works for the story then yeah, I’m open to anything.

Virgin River Season 5
Photo: Netflix

Well in Season 6 you will no longer be the new showrunner. What are your hopes for the future of this series now that it’s in your hands?

Thank you. I feel like I learned a lot just from breaking the stories, writing the stories, working with the actors producing the show and then having the audience feedback for Season 5. So I feel like I’ve learned a lot. I just want to put all of that to the best use possible to continue to make the show the best show possible. And I think that’s always hitting the heart and the humor of these characters’ stories and their lives and what’s so special about this small town.

Before I go, would you ever be open to a Sullivan’s Crossing crossover, with Lauren Hammersley playing both of her characters. Maybe Mel and Maggie are leading a medical team. Jack and Scott Patterson’s Sully are wearing plaid together. Chad Michael Murray’s Cal and Brady and the boys are smoldering by bodies of water?

[Laughs] Are you…you’re starting a Carrverse! I know Lauren would love that. Yeah, never say never. Sullivan’s River. Virgin Crossing. I don’t know. [Laughs]

This interview was edited for clarity and length.

Virgin River Season 5 is now streaming on Netflix.