Melissa McCarthy Incensed That No One Believed She Was Actually Bitten By Fire Ants While Filming In Australia: “And I’m Like, ‘No. I’m Pretty Confident I Know When I’m Being Bitten’”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Melissa McCarthy recently opened up about a scary moment from her time down under that might have some feeling quite antsy about traveling there.

The actress and comedian appeared on Live with Kelly and Mark on Thursday morning (Nov. 30), where she told co-hosts Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos that she “got bit by something” while she was filming in Australia, per Entertainment Weekly.

Consuelos asked her what she got bit by, to which she replied, “Nobody knew!”

Viewers were then shown a picture of McCarthy covered in ice packs in order to prevent swelling, as she explained that she got “crazy hives” and her “entire face blew up.” She even experienced twitches after the bites affected her nervous system.

“And the Aussies were just like, ‘Something got ya,'” she recalled. “And I was like, ‘I need someone to be more concerned!'”

She noted that she “kept getting bit by things,” but others around her were skeptical of her claims.

“And I’m like, ‘No. I’m pretty confident I know when I’m being bitten,'” she continued. “It’s not like I have a weird feeling. I have bite marks. And then they realized they’d put my chair over fire ants.”

She highlighted that the skeptics ultimately admitted that they were wrong, telling her, “‘Oh, I guess you weren’t imagining it.'”

“By the way, I love Australia,” she added, clarifying that she “really did love it there,” and wasn’t just joking.

Thursday’s episode of Live also featured Ripa’s return following her absence on Wednesday morning due to losing her voice. However, she was missing on Friday morning, as well, leading the show’s announcer, Déjà Vu, to sub in on both mornings.

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings