“I Felt Scared Of Him”: Jonathan Majors’ Ex-Girlfriend’s Tearful Testimony In In Domestic Assault Trial

Where to Stream:

Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania

Powered by Reelgood

Jonathan Majors‘ ex-girlfriend, Grace Jabbari, tearfully detailed their turbulent relationship on the second day of the actor’s criminal trial.

Back in March, Majors was arrested when Jabbari accused him of assault and harassment after she confronted him about a text message on his phone from another woman. The actor — who has pleaded not guilty — faces three charges of misdemeanor assault, aggravated harassment and harassment.

Majors’ lawyer, Priya Chaudhry, has argued that the actor was victim to Jabbari’s alleged assault, claiming he was left scratched and bleeding after the text messages were discovered, per The New York Times. Chaudhry alleged Jabbari lashed out at Majors after he ended their relationship.

According to Variety, Jabbari took the stand earlier today, where she detailed their two-year relationship to the jury.

The ex-couple met in August 2021 on the set of Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania, in which Majors starred and Jabbari worked as a movement coach. She described the beginning of their relationship as “amazing,” with Majors expressing his love “early on” and making “kind” gestures like writing her poetry.

However, things took a turn for the worse in December 2021 when Jabbari met the actor’s dogs for the first time, she claimed. The dancer alleged that he became angry when she brought up her ex-boyfriend’s pet.

“It was the first time I felt scared of him,” she said. “I knew to never mention my ex again or anyone I had dated before.”

Jonathan Majors
Photo: Getty Images

Later on in the testimony, Jabbari presented audio she recorded from a September 2022 argument with Majors, where he demanded that she act more like Coretta Scott King or Michelle Obama.

“I’m a great man. A great man,” he said in the recording. “I do great things for my culture and for the world. The woman that supports me needs to be a great woman.”

Jabbari also claimed Majors would call himself a “monster” and threaten to commit suicide following their fights.

“I pleaded with him [so that] he wouldn’t do that. He would say, ‘It’s in place. It’s in motion.’ I’d say, ‘You can’t do that. What about your mother? What about your daughter?'” Jabbari recalled. “I would intend to make him feel safe and loved and secure. And he would receive that.”

Still, she stayed in a relationship with the actor because she “loved him,” she said.

“I felt like I had to keep a lot of secrets from everyone. I felt very isolated. It was confusing. I felt scared of him but quite dependent on him,” she said, before later adding, “I just felt like I was existing in his world. I had low self-esteem. I lost a lot of weight. I felt incompetent and dependent on him. He was the only one who knew what went on.”

If you or someone you know is a victim of domestic abuse, help is available. Call the National Domestic Violence Hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 800-799-7233, or text START to 88788.

If you or someone you know are experiencing suicidal thoughts, call the Suicide and Crisis Lifeline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 988.