Kelly Ripa Devastated When The ‘All My Children’ Wardrobe Team Told Her “We Thought You’d Be Smaller By Now” — 9 Days After Giving Birth!

Where to Stream:

All My Children

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa revealed a shocking experience she had while filming All My Children. On Wednesday’s (Dec. 6) episode of her Let’s Talk Off Camera podcast, Ripa spoke to guest Hilarie Burton Morgan about giving birth, explaining that she “didn’t recognize [her] body” after giving birth to her first son, Michael, in 1997, per The Daily Mail.

“I was on the soap and I had to go back to work nine days after,” the mom-of-three shared.

Morgan gasped, telling Ripa, “Oh, Kelly, that’s brutal!”

Ripa agreed, recalling that “the wardrobe people were like, ‘We thought you’d be smaller by now.’

“And I was like, ‘Well, I’m not going to be smaller anytime soon! I don’t know much, but here’s what I do know,” she said. “This looks like it’s gonna be here for a while. I’m not in any rush, so.'”

According to IMDb, Ripa began her 462 episode run as Haley Vaughan on the ABC soap opera in 1990, where starred alongside Mark Consuelos‘ Mateo Santos. The two eloped in 1996 in Las Vegas, per People.

The couple, who now co-host Live with Kelly and Mark weekdays on ABC, also are parents to daughter Lola (22) and son Joaquin (20); she revealed on the podcast that her two younger children are just “sixteen months” apart.

Mark Consuelos and Kelly Ripa on 'All My Children'
Photo: Everett Collection

The co-host couple’s relationship often comes up during their morning show’s daily host chat. In September, they recalled appearing on the show together when it was Live with Regis and Kathie Lee in 1996 while they were “broken up” and “not speaking to each other.”

Ripa explained, “And we had to do a segment on this show together even though we detested one another — detested!”

It was this reunion that actually brought them back together, as Consuelos told Andy Cohen on Watch What Happens Live in 2019.

“We both had to meet and do an appearance on Live With Regis and Kathie Lee,” he said at the time. “When we were together, she wouldn’t talk to me, and that made me go crazy. So I followed her into Central Park, and then we went back to my place, and we got married the next day.”