Mayim Bialik Fired From ‘Jeopardy,’ Fans Rejoice: “I Can Finally Enjoy The Show Again”

Where to Stream:

Jeopardy

Powered by Reelgood

Clue: Mayim Bialik on Jeopardy. Answer: What is … fired? Over the weekend, Bialik announced that she would no longer be co-hosting the syndicated version of Jeopardy alongside Ken Jennings.

“As the holiday break begins in Hollywood, I have some Jeopardy! news,” she wrote on Instagram on Friday (Dec. 15). “Sony has informed me that I will no longer be hosting the syndicated version of Jeopardy!”

She continued, “I am incredibly honored to have been nominated for a primetime Emmy for hosting this year and I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to have been a part of the Jeopardy! family. For all of you who have supported me through this incredible journey and to the fans, contestants, writers, staff and crew of America’s Favorite Quiz Show, thank you.”

The game show said they decided to have “one host” to “maintain continuity for our viewers.” They added, “We are truly grateful for all of Mayim’s contributions to Jeopardy!, and we hope to continue to work with her on primetime specials.”

The news isn’t that surprising for some. Bialik initially stepped away from her hosting duties with only one week left of tapings for Season 39 to stand in solidarity with the WGA strike, prompting Jennings to step back in.

When Season 40 began in September, Jennings worked as the sole host of Jeopardy — and he will continue to do so as the show moves on without Bialik.

In response to the Big Bang Theory star getting the boot from Sony, fans have expressed mixed reactions on X (formerly known as Twitter).

“Praise be!! Mayim Bialik is no longer Jeopardy! co-host. Long live Ken Jennings, the one true host,” one wrote, while another added, “Finally! I stopped watching because she was there… I can finally enjoy the show again…”

A third person said, “I genuinely don’t know why Ken Jennings wasn’t the sole host of Jeopardy to begin with. He’s literally been a fan of Jeopardy his entire life and is synonymous with the brand, unlike Mayim Bialik.”

Others, however, are sad to see Bialik go.

“I’m kind of upset they got rid of Mayim Bialik,” one wrote. “She was a really good host & actually enjoyed watching Jeopardy again. That being said, I think Ken Jennings is a perfect choice. Rotating guest hosts every season might be a nice way to keep Jeopardy refreshing.”

Another added, “This is really sad. I LOVE Mayim Bialik! Bialik brought out a sense of character to the game that made it fun! She reminded me of Alex Trebek and added her own little bit of spice. I’m grateful for the episodes we got, wish there were more.”

Someone else posted, “I am very sad to hear this. One more television show that I won’t be watching. Mayim Bialik is awesome. She’s a vegan too. She’s really made me feel better about being a Jewish vegan.”

Jeopardy! airs weeknights at 7/6c. Check out the website for your local listings.