Charlie Hunnam Opens Up About His “Awkward” Meeting With George Lucas While Up For The Role Of Anakin Skywalker: “I Just Remember Walking Out And Thinking, ‘Well, I’m Definitely Not Getting That Role'”

Where to Stream:

Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones

Powered by Reelgood

Charlie Hunnam revealed that the force was almost with him — but not quite.

Speaking with Entertainment Tonight at the premiere of his new fantasy action film Rebel Moon Part One: A Child of Fire, the actor opened up about being considered to play Anakin Skywalker in 2002’s Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones, per Variety, recalling that “years and years ago [he] met George Lucas.”

“I got to the point where I was meeting George Lucas, you know? I don’t think he meets a lot of actors,” he explained. “I think there was probably maybe two, three actors they were considering.”

While he claimed he doesn’t “remember much about it,” he does remember feeling “nervous” and “a little bit awkward.”

“And I just remember walking out and thinking, ‘Well, I’m definitely not getting that role.’ And I was correct,” he teased. “Sometimes it’s about the vibes.”

The role ultimately went to Hayden Christensen, who has since garnered further credits as Luke and Leia’s father, including a recent appearance in the newest Disney+ Star Wars series, Ahsoka.

Hayden Christensen in 'Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones'
Photo: Everett Collection

In a recent episode of Dagobah Dispatch: An EW Star Wars Podcast, Christensen said that he “would love to get to continue with Star Wars,” per Men’s Journal.

“I don’t know what the future holds, if such an opportunity presents itself, I’ll be there with a big smile on my face,” he shared. “If it doesn’t, I feel really grateful for getting to come back and do the work that I did, both in Obi-Wan and Ahsoka.”

According to ScreenRant, other stars up for the role included Leonardo DiCaprio, Paul Walker, Heath Ledger and James Van Der Beek.

Rebel Moon Part One is now in theaters, and debuts on Netflix on Thursday, Dec. 21.