Jingle Binge

“Ken The EP” Grants ‘Barbie’ Fans Three New Takes On “I’m Just Ken” — Including A “Kristmas” Version

Where to Stream:

Barbie (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Do you hear what I hear? Or shall I say ken you hear what I hear? That’s right, Ryan Gosling and Mark Ronson just gave Barbie fans the ultimate Christmas gift with the release of “Ken the EP.”

Other than the original hit summer blockbuster’s iconic ballad, “I’m Just Ken,” the EP features a trio of new takes on the song: “I’m Just Ken (Merry Kristmas Barbie),” “I’m Just Ken (In My Feelings Acoustic),” and “I’m Just Ken (Purple Disco Machine Remix).”

With respect to the “Kristmas” version, a merry music video was also released, in which viewers see Gosling perform the song with instrumentalists, in a studio decked out with Christmas lights.

His Kenergy remains intact, as he banters with composers Ronson and Andrew Wyatt, per The Hollywood Reporter. Gosling dons a pair of shades just before he begins singing and says, “Because the world can have Ken’s voice, but only Barbie can have his eyes.”

The more than memorable musical number, with made its way onto the Billboard Hot 100 this summer and earned Gosling an Grammy nomination, was actually nearly cut, according to director Greta Gerwig.

“It just said in the script, ‘And then it becomes a dream ballet and they work it out through dance,” she remembered at the BFI London Film Festival, per Variety. “There was a big meeting that was like, ‘Do you need this?’ And I was like, ‘Everything in me needs this.’”

More recently, she shed some light on the inspiration for Ken’s faux mink coat, which she revealed to be a product of her and Gosling’s mutual and “very deep love of Sly Stallone.”

“He wore wonderful coats, and we were texting back and forth pictures, so we decided Ken should have this faux mink,” she shared on The Late Show earlier this month.

“Ken the EP” is out now. Barbie is streaming on Max. Watch the “I’m Just Ken (Merry Kristmas Barbie)” music video above.