Kenan Thompson Tells Whoopi Goldberg How Her Daughter Helped Him Book ‘SNL’ On ‘The View’: “I Don’t Know If I Ever Told You”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Kenan Thompson surprised Whoopi Goldberg on this morning’s episode of The View with a touching story about how her daughter, Alex Martin, helped manifest his gig on Saturday Night Live two decades ago.

Thompson, who has been on SNL for 20 years, currently stands as the longest-running cast member. While promoting his new book, When I Was Your Age, and Good Burger 2 on Paramount+, the actor looked back on the nerve-wracking audition process.

“Did I ever tell you this story? Because it involves your daughter,” Thompson told Goldberg, who encouraged him to tell her (and the audience) what happened.

(Editor’s Note: The View is currently on hiatus; contrary to what you may have heard, The View was not canceled today. This article was originally published on Dec. 5, 2023, when this episode first aired. The View will return with new episodes in January 2024.)

According to the Good Burger star, his friends introduced him to Martin “back in the day.” He said they often spent time at her house, before adding that they were “very close for a while.”

“I remember when I got the call to audition, I happened to be hanging out over there,” he recalled. “I was nervous. And she was like, ‘What are you nervous about?’ I was like, ‘I got this SNL audition coming up, you know what I’m saying?’ She was like, ‘Go book that. Just go book it.’ And I was like, ‘You know? Yeah. I’m just gonna go take that job.'”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

Thompson, who officially joined the sketch comedy series in 2003, concluded his story with a “shoutout” to Martin for the pep talk.

“I don’t know if I ever told you that,” he said, to which a proud Goldberg quickly replied, “No!”

After the Kenan & Kel alum noted that Martin has “done well,” Goldberg playfully shrugged her shoulders and quipped, “She’s aight.” Even Sunny Hostin chimed in to praise the moderator’s daughter.

“It sounds like her,” she said of the advice Martin gave Thompson. “I hung out with her a lot in the Bahamas. She’s fun, too.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.