Meghan McCain Rants About Wasting Her “Little Free Time” On Bradley Cooper’s ‘Maestro’: “Could Barely Get Through It”

Where to Stream:

Maestro

Powered by Reelgood

Meghan McCain should add movie critic to her growing resume.

The political commentator and former television personality took to the platform formerly known as Twitter to rail against Bradley Cooper’s new biopic Maestro, which follows the life of composer Leonard Bernstein.

“Watched Maestro last night and….I could barely get through it. I’m frustrated I wasted what little free time I have open at night (with 2 young kids) watching it,” McCain tweeted Wednesday (Dec. 27.) “Why are so many Oscar buzz movies like this and so disappointing? Who are these movies for?”

Considering Cooper’s film has earned Oscars buzz, some took to McCain’s replies to defend the buzzy epic, though some also agreed that the movie felt “boring.”

“Shorter version: I don’t understand art at all,” one person replied mockingly.

“What specifically did you not like about it? Some slower parts for sure but fairly deserving of the buzz,” another asked.

Variety predicts that Cooper could finally nab an Oscar next year, particularly in the Leading Role category, along with eight other possible nominations for the film. Maestro has already received multiple nominations across the Golden Globes and Critics Choice Awards.

It’s also already earned an award for Best Screenplay at the Venice Film Festival, where it premiered earlier this year.

McCain recently made headlines for clapping back at her former View co-host Ana Navarro, who accused her of using her father’s name to get ahead like Hunter Biden.

“No one has trafficked on the McCain last name and legacy more than Ana Navarro,” McCain said during a recent episode of her podcast. “She throws around the fact that she worked for my dad [and] knew my dad… I mean, all day long and again, pull the receipts.”

She continued, “I am nothing like Hunter Biden, I am the exception. A lot of nepo babies, particularly in politics, they struggle, they have addiction issues, there’s a lot of darkness. I am very proud of the fact that I never went down that road.”

Maestro is now streaming on Netflix if you would like to see the film for yourself.