Meghan McCain Escalates Beef With Her Former Co-Hosts On ‘The View’: “Crazy Old People”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Meghan McCain is continuing to speak out against her former co-hosts at The View.

Earlier this month, Ana Navarro appeared to call out the political commentator for using her famous last name to get ahead during a discussion about Hunter Biden, though she never named McCain directly. In response, McCain threatened to take legal action and claimed that “no one has trafficked on the McCain last name more than Ana Navarro.”

While appearing on a podcast that was seemingly recorded amid the height of the drama, McCain slammed her ex-colleagues, whom she referred to as “crazy old people.”

“I can’t go like a week without something being said about me on the show,” she said on the Your Welcome with Michael Malice podcast, per Deadline.

“The thing about The View is that I didn’t know when I signed my contract with ABC that this is forever,” she said. “That, for the rest of my life, I’m going to be bullied, and yelled at, and abused, and brought up for years. I haven’t been on that show in years. I’m just trying to live my life.”

She continued, “I just didn’t know that when I signed to do this show that I have to deal with these crazy old people just yelling about me all of the time. I go whole swaths of time without thinking about them, like whole months without thinking about the show or anything. And, apparently, I am just on their minds every day. And it’s pathetic.”

McCain then reflected on the “disorganized” and “chaotic” work environment when cameras weren’t rolling.

“I will say, it is kind of a rigged show,” she explained. “At night, all the hosts are given Hot Topics to choose from. So you’re like sent news articles you want to talk about the next day. Whatever the majority chooses is the topic of the show.”

Meghan McCain leaves The View
Photo: ABC

According to McCain, any topic that would make Democrats “look bad is never chosen.”

“I had to go in every morning being like, ‘Hey, whatever news story that makes Biden look bad is the number one news story of the day,’ and there would be a fight over whether or not it should even be aired because the hosts didn’t agree on it,” she claimed. “And that was always a battle every day. And there were some news stories that they just wouldn’t cover because it made people look bad. It’s under ABC News and I don’t think that’s totally ethical.”

McCain appeared as the sole Republican voice on The View for four years before she left in 2021. While chatting on the podcast, she blamed her decision to exit the daytime talk show on producers allegedly wanting “someone who will agree with them and say ‘all Republicans are evil and conservatives are ruining the country.'”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.