Queue And A

‘Wheel of Time’ Star Josha Stradowski Thinks the Show’s Version of Rhuidean Will “Surprise Fans”

Where to Stream:

The Wheel of Time

Powered by Reelgood

The Wheel of Time Season 2 on Prime Video ended in a moment of euphoric triumph for our heroes, particularly the Dragon Reborn. Rand al’Thor (Josha Stradowski) is able to not only survive a one-on-one* fight with the Forsaken Ishamael (Fares Fares), but he also finds his arrival proclaimed for all to see at Falme. Everyone now knows that he is the Dragon Reborn, the reincarnation of Age of Legends hero Lews Therin Telamon (Alexander Karim), and the most powerful male channeler to ever live. It will be up to him to defeat the Dark One in the Last Battle, or go literally insane trying.

*Okay, so technically, yes, he needed the help of all his friends in the show’s version of events.

Needless to say, Rand has come a long way from the sheepherder we first met all the way back in The Wheel of Time premiere. He’s started to hone his skills as a channeler and begun to assert himself as both a leader and a strategist. So how does Rand’s experiences in The Wheel of Time Season 2 set him up for the future? And what will he have to master next to survive the newly awakened Forsaken?

Decider spoke with Josha Stradowski earlier in the month about Rand’s evolution in the first two seasons of the Prime Video show. The Wheel of Time star — and book reader — gave us his thoughts on some key changes to the showdown at Falme, what it means for Rand that Moiraine (Rosamund Pike) charged him with breaking the shield on her powers, and where things now stand with former flame Egwene (Madeleine Madden) as well as new ally Elayne (Ceara Coveney)…

Rand channeling the one power in the WoT S2 finale
Photo: Prime Video

DECIDER: I’m curious about the Season 2 finale. In the books, Rand obviously faces Ishamael or Ba’alzamon in the clouds, one on one. The show takes a different tact, where it’s Rand’s friends who come to help him out on top of the tower. I’m curious how you felt about those changes.

JOSHA STRADOWSKI: Well, you know, I think what I remember when I read the first book and the second book, those finales were very, very, very big. I think this is a very good question for [Wheel of Time showrunner] Rafe [Judkins], but I also thought we also needed to like build it up. You know, because there’s also a big skill gap. I think for Rand’s arc in Season 2, it made sense for me that Rand needs his friends to do this. And that is a big realization, a big lesson for him for Season 2 and something that he needs to face whatever he has to face in Season 3.

So I spoke to Faras Faras about the scene where Lanfear visits him in Tel’aran’rhiod. And, you know, you pop up as sort of an avatar of yourself in that scene. I’m very curious, what did you think you represented to these two Forsaken in that scene? Because it’s a different take on Rand, a different energy.

Well, for Rand, that was something completely new. I think [Lanfear] showed Rand’s worst nightmare. It’s like the first glimpse of the world-building of the dream world and also for Rand to see what’s possible there. I think that’s a good setup also for Season 3.

Rand and Moiraine have always had a very complicated relationship. What does it mean to Rand that she trusts him to break the shield on her powers in this season? I’m curious how that might have changed their relationship or how it reflects where they are at that point in the story.

Well, I was happy for Rand that he could finally mean something for Moiraine in that way. It seems like she’s constantly guiding and helping Rand and this was like the very few moments or the first glimpses of what Rand is capable of. So I think that’s good for the dynamic of their relationship.

Shifting gears, when Rand gets to Falme in the books, he fights Turak. It’s a big sword duel between two swordmasters. But in the show, he kind of has an Indiana Jones moment where he just uses the One Power to wipe out Turok and his guards. Was there any part of you that was disappointed you didn’t get to have a big sword fight moment with the actor who played Turok? Or did it make sense to you that he would unleash the One Power instead?

I love the sword-fighting moments in the books. I’m very eager for that: those moments between Rand and Lan. But I also felt like, you know, Rand was practicing. He learned a couple of things with the sword, but I don’t think he was quite there yet. So I understand that it was quite a big skill gap for that. But I also think that’s a very good question for Rafe.

Rand in 'The Wheel of Time' Season 2
Photo: Prime Video

I’ll ask Rafe next time I see him. So Rand meets Elayne ever so briefly at the end of Season 2. What is going through his mind when he first sees her?

What do you think went through his mind when he first saw her?

I mean, he seems pretty enraptured by this glowing girl helping him out.

Well, that’s exactly it. I think in the books, there are all these moments where Rand seems completely blown away by the beauty of these women. Selene, for example. And I think this was one of those typical Rand moments.

Speaking of Rand and his ladies, how does he feel about Egwene at this point? Because obviously seeing her in captivity is what pushes him to go to Falme. Where does his heart lie when it comes to Egwene?

Well, it makes him realize that she really needs him and that he probably made a mistake by leaving them behind. He thought they were better off without him and they’re not. Because she’s been captured and made a slave. So I think that’s a big lesson for Rand.

Looking ahead, I know that Rafe has said we’re going to see Ruidhean in the third season Is there anything you can tease about how it might compare to other sets we’ve seen in The Wheel of Time? Is it bigger? Will it surprise fans?

I think it will surprise fans. We’re going to South Africa for two months. I’ve seen some of the landscapes where we’re going to shoot and it’s pretty incredible. I think it’s season two, we went to Morocco for two months, but I think South Africa is something else. 

Before I go, I guess what has been your favorite scene for fans to see in the second season? And are there any fan reactions that you’re aware of that have just tickled you? 

Well, it was very nice to see all the characters back together again at the end of Season 2. There wasn’t a lot of togetherness in that whole season. And, you know, we were shooting the whole week on that tower in the middle of the desert in Morocco. A lot of the actors didn’t see each other for a very, very long time. It was a good time and it was also nice to see all those characters back together again on the screen.

This interview has been edited and condensed for clarity.