Taraji P. Henson Was Surprised By The Strong Response To Her Unfair Pay Comments: “I’ve Been Saying It For Years”

Where to Stream:

The Color Purple (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Taraji P. Henson has been speaking out about unfair pay for Black women for years — so it came as a surprise to her when her emotional interview from last month was the one that finally struck a chord with the public.

While speaking with Entertainment Tonight at the Palm Springs International Film Festival’s Film Awards earlier this week, the actress opened up about the overwhelming support she has received since her passionate December 2023 interview on Gayle King‘s SiriusXM show.

“[It’s] because I’ve been saying it for years,” Henson said of why she wasn’t expecting such a strong response from fans. “If you go and do research and look at any women of color in the industry, they said the same thing.”

She continued, “I don’t know why people decided to hear the words [this time], maybe it was the emotion attached to it. But like I said in the interview, I’m just tired of us having that same conversation. Something’s gotta give.”

During the conversation last month, King questioned Henson about a rumor that she was considering leaving Hollywood.

“I’m just tired of working so hard, being gracious at what I do [and] getting paid a fraction of the cost,” she said at the time, before later adding, “Every time I do something and break another glass ceiling, when it’s time to renegotiate, I’m at the bottom again like I never did what I just did, and I’m tired. I’m tired. It wears on you. What does that mean? What is that telling me? If I can’t fight for them coming up behind me then what the fuck am I doing?”

Taraji P. Henson and Danielle Brooks
Photo: Getty Images

The Color Purple star soon began to cry as she explained, “I’m just supposed to smile and grin and bear it and just keep like… Enough is enough! That’s why I have other things, I have my TPH brand, I have my mental wellness… because this industry, if you let it, it will steal your soul. I refuse to let that happen.”

Henson’s co-star Danielle Brooks was also present for the interview. While speaking to ET, she revealed why she wasn’t as surprised by Henson’s emotional response regarding the subject.

“She has been talking about it for a while, and it’s good, because that’s her story. She’s sharing her experience,” Brooks said. “We’re different actors, we’re coming with different experiences. But I respect what she’s talking about because it is true.”