Drew Barrymore And Ross Mathews Debate Workout Habits On ‘The Drew Barrymore Show’: “Don’t Want People To Look At Me From Behind As I Do A Squat”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Drew Barrymore learned something new about her trusty Drew’s News co-host and partner-in-crime Ross Mathews, who, much to her surprise, denounced workout classes on this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show.

According to a new report by Medical News Today, competition is “the best workout motivation” as exercising alongside other people encourages gym-goers to go “harder” than they typically would if they were alone.

“It’s so true,” Mathews said. “Have you ever been to the gym and been, like, exhausted and then see some active senior up there and you’re like, ‘If Esther’s doing it, I gotta do it!’ It’s the only thing that motivates me.”

But when Barrymore revealed that she “love[s] workout classes,” Mathews made a shocking confession.

“I’ve never done a workout class, like a group thing,” he admitted. “No one needs to see this. I would start in the front like, ‘Hi, everybody. I’m Ross.’ And then by the time we started, I would like sneak to the back. I don’t want people to look at me from behind as I do a squat.”

A bewildered Barrymore then replied, “I didn’t know this about you. Do we need to go to a workout class together? I know a lot of good ones.”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

After some consideration, Mathews agreed to try out a class with Barrymore — especially since her “encouraging” nature would stop him from quitting.

“Everybody lifts each other up,” Barrymore said of the workouts she attends, to which Mathews told her, “OK. If that’s how it feels and not how it feels in my head, I will go with you and do it. It’s a new year. I’ll do it.”

As for what they’ll wear, the 50 First Dates star will likely sport some baggy clothes — much like her good friend and cinematic soulmate, Adam Sandler.

“My body was not made for sleeveless, tight, thin, stretchy material. No, no. I like a ‘70s T-shirt and a nice sweatpant,” she explained, while Mathews joked, “My body rejects spandex.”

However, Barrymore quickly countered, “Don’t let him fool you. I’ve seen him in leggings, and you have the best legs in the business.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.