Hoda Kotb Shares Sweet Message For Her Former ‘Today’ Co-Host Kathie Lee Gifford, Five Years After Her Exit: “Kat, Love You”

Hoda Kotb praised her former co-host Kathie Lee Gifford during a recent episode of Today With Hoda & Jenna.

Gifford, who left her daytime talk show Today with Kathie Lee & Hoda in 2019, has been living a quiet life in Nashville since her exit from NBC. But Kotb shared a sweet update on Gifford’s new life during a recent episode of Today after she unveiled a new song by her former co-host.

“By the way, Kat’s living her best life, she’s in Nashville, she’s writing music, she is living her best life,” Kotb said. “She’s playing with the cutest grandkids, putting out good music, so Kat, love you.”

Gifford promptly moved to Nashville after she announced her departure from NBC to focus on her music and acting.

She was soon replaced by Jenna Bush Hager, who had been with The Today Show since 2009.

At the time of her exit, Gifford expressed that there was “nothing really keeping” her in New York except for her work at NBC.

“The work that I want to do isn’t here anymore,” she said. “I am an artist, I’m an actress, I’m a writer, I’m a songwriter, a director now. That’s the stuff that feeds my soul and I know that I’m running out of time to do those things.”

She had been on Today for 11 years by the time she left the network.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.