Emma Stone Reveals She Applies “Every June” To Compete On ‘Jeopardy,’ But Has No Interest in ‘Celebrity Jeopardy’: “I Really Want To Earn My Stripes”

Where to Stream:

Jeopardy

Powered by Reelgood

Emma Stone wants to take her talents from the silver screen to the game show circuit, and has had her sights set on her “favorite show,” Jeopardy!, for quite some time.

The Poor Things star recently appeared on Variety‘s Awards Circuit podcast, where she revealed that “every June,” she applies to be on the Ken Jennings-hosted game show.

“I don’t want to go on Celebrity Jeopardy,” she shared. “I really want to earn my stripes. I would like to go on real Jeopardy!

However, she explained that in order to be selected, “you have to take the test,” which is only available “once a year with your email address.”

“And they don’t tell you how you did,” she added. “They just say, ‘We’ll let you know in the next nine to 12 months if you got on the show.’ And guess what? I haven’t gotten on the show.”

Nonetheless, the actress — who just earned a Golden Globe in the “Actress in a Musical or Comedy Motion Picture” category for her role of Bella Baxter — said she tunes in “every single night,” and even “mark[s] down how many answers” she guesses correctly.

Emma Stone at the 2024 Golden Globes
Photo: Getty Images

“And I swear, I could go on Jeopardy,” she added.

She also shared that while growing up watching Saturday Night Live was what “made [her] love the idea of performing,” she deemed the 1979 comedy The Jerk to be the “first movie” she recalls “deeply, deeply falling in love with.”

“Cause it was my dad’s favorite movie,” she said. “I do think a lot of it has to do with it felt like I could bond with my dad through it.”

She also name-dropped Planes Trains and Automobiles, Caddyshack, and The Shawshank Redemption as films they would watch together.

“I kind of combined the feeling of film and love,” she noted. “And so I can’t tell now if it was those films themselves, or if it was that feeling.”