‘Golden Globes’ Host Jo Koy Takes The L For Maligned Monologue, Admits It Was “A Rookie Move” To Throw His Writers Under The Bus

Where to Stream:

Barbie (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Jo Koy is continuing his apology tour with yet another interview addressing the backlash he’s faced since hosting the Golden Globes.

Koy’s cringey monologue barely earned a laugh as he poked fun at Taylor Swift, Barbie, and his own writers. But the comedian chalks it all up to lack of preparation, claiming they “were still writing up until they said we’re live.”

Speaking to The Los Angeles Times, Koy revealed that his writing staff was picked just over a week before the show. “This is not an excuse, I’m just trying to paint the picture because I don’t think people understand, in any situation, how is that geared towards winning?” he said.

He continued to defend his writers while admitting it was “a rookie move” to throw them under the bus during his monologue.

“I told them like that was a moment right there where I’m just grasping,” Koy said. “I love them and I can’t stop talking about them in every interview. They busted their ass, man. There’s a lot of greats that make rookie moves. That was a rookie move. Those writers are dope and that was not my intention at all. They were amazing, they had my back and I need to make sure I fix that and I will, I always will.”

Jo Koy
Photo: Getty Images

Koy even fired back at the criticism he received for comparing Barbie to Oppenheimer, saying the former is “about a plastic doll with big boobies,” while the latter is “based on the 721-page Pulitzer Prize-winning book about the Manhattan Project.”

The comedian claimed critics don’t “understand” who he is if they believe the joke was sexist, saying he was just “telling a joke.”

“The things that are being said, it’s just like, man, I don’t think you understand who I am as a person, you know what I mean?” Koy said. “Because if you’ve ever seen me, you’ll see just how much I praise and shine light on women, from my ex-wife to my mom.”

He continued, “I’m telling a joke — what happened to society where we can’t even joke with each other anymore. I bought the movie. I supported the movie. Yes, that’s the story that that doll needed. And I’m glad because now there’s people that look like my mom that can support that.”

Barbie director Greta Gerwig responded to Koy’s joke in her own interview, saying, “Well, he’s not wrong. She’s the first doll that was mass-produced with breasts, so he was right on.”

Surely, this will all blow over sooner or later. The awards season will continue into Monday, Jan. 15, when Anthony Anderson hosts the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards.