‘All My Children’ Star Alec Musser’s Cause Of Death Revealed

Where to Stream:

All My Children

Powered by Reelgood

Days after All My Children star Alec Musser died at the age of 50 over the weekend, his cause of death has been revealed.

According to a release from the San Diego County Medical Examiner’s Office, Musser died of a self-inflicted gunshot wound to the chest on Saturday (Jan. 13). He was discovered by his fiancée Paige Press, who found Musser in the bathroom of their home with a firearm nearby. The report states Press “knew him to be alive” the evening before.

After Press discovered Musser, paramedics and law enforcement arrived at the scene and confirmed him dead.

Press later shared the sad news of his death in a statement posted to social media.

“RIP to the love of my life,” she wrote in an Instagram Story, per People. “I will never stop loving you. My heart is broken. Today is the worst day of my life. We were so happy. You were the best fiancé I could of ever asked for.”

Musser is best known for starring on All My Children as Del Henry from 2005 to 2007. He also made appearances in the 2010 comedy Grown Ups and on a 2011 episode of Desperate Housewives.

He most recently served as a co-executive producer on the 2020 musical Best Summer Ever.

Alec Musser 2006
Photo: Yolanda Perez / © ABC

Adam Sandler, who worked with Musser on Grown Ups, penned a touching tribute to the actor on Instagram after the news of his passing broke.

Alongside a still from Musser’s appearance in the 2010 comedy, Sandler wrote, “I loved this guy. Cannot believe he is gone. Such a wonderful, funny good man. Thinking of Alec Musser and his family and sending all my love. A true great sweetheart of a person.”

Salma Hayek, who shared a scene with Musser in Grown Ups, also praised the late actor.

“He was so kind professional and absolutely hilarious. His early departure breaks my heart. I feel so blessed that I got to meet him,” she wrote in a social media post.

If you or someone you know are experiencing suicidal thoughts, call the Suicide and Crisis Lifeline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 988.