Sorry, Swifties: Taylor Swift Is “Definitely” Not The Author Behind ‘Argylle,’ Says The Adaptation’s Director

Where to Stream:

Argylle

Powered by Reelgood

Sorry, Swifties!

Although Taylor Swift fans have become convinced that the singer secretly penned the novel that inspired Henry Cavill‘s upcoming spy thriller, Argylle director Matthew Vaughn has come to shut down the rumors once and for all.

Speaking to Rolling Stone, Vaughn addressed the many conspiracy theories that recently cropped up online, theorizing that Swift had penned the recently released novel under the pseudonym Elly Conway.

“I’m not a big internet guy, and it was actually my daughter who came up to me — this is the power of celebrity and the internet — and said, ‘You never told me Taylor wrote the book!’” Vaughn said. “And I’m looking at her going, ‘What are you talking about Taylor Swift wrote the book? She didn’t write the book!’ And I was laughing because I was like, ‘It’s not true! She didn’t write the book!’ But my daughter was convinced of it.”

Vaughn did share some praise for the Swifties, noting how thorough their theories were, no matter how incorrect they may be.

Henry Cavill, Dua Lipa, and John Cena in 'Argylle'
Photo: Apple TV+/ Universal

“There is a real book … and it’s a really good book,” he continued. “And there is an Elly Conway who wrote the book, but it’s not Taylor Swift. And I say that because I imagine Taylor Swift has a load of people trying to jump on her bandwagon left, right, and center. I don’t want to be a part of that club.”

He added, “I did read the conspiracies and I was like, ‘Wow, they don’t leave a stone unturned!’ But it’s not Taylor Swift. She definitely didn’t write the book.”

Conway, whoever they are, has been a literary mystery since the film rights for their manuscript were optioned for around $200 million in 2021 with the hopes of launching a franchise. The novel was only recently published on Jan. 9, with the film adaptation set to premiere in theaters on Feb. 2.

The novel follows a protagonist, also named Elly Conway and portrayed by Bryce Dallas Howard, whose bestselling spy novels start to hit a bit too close to home for a global crime syndicate.

The film also stars Samuel L. Jackson, Sam Rockwell, Dua Lipa, John Cena, Ariana Debose, and more.