Will There Be a ‘Fargo’ Season 6 on FX and Hulu? Everything We Know

Where to Stream:

Fargo

Powered by Reelgood

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Season 5 of Noah Hawley’s hit anthology series Fargo has come to an end after premiering on November 21, 2023. The installment was an adventurous ride filled with trickery, suspicious deaths, and Jon Hamm’s body parts.

The latest season takes place in Minnesota and follows Dorothy “Dot” Lyon (Juno Temple) as secrets from her past begin to haunt her. Garnering high critical reception, Season 5 managed to nab a spot on Decider’s Best TV Shows of 2023 list despite its late-in-the-season airdate.

Decider’s Sean T. Collins provided recaps for the entire season and broke down the twisty ending. Regarding the finale, he wrote, “It helps that I’m a misery guts myself, at least where the art I like is concerned, and so I find men like Ole Munch fascinating. But I thought I knew all the tricks these guys had to play, live or die. I’ve seen how things work out for these men, how if they’re lucky they smile in death.”

Collins summarized the season with, “I’m glad I saw it. I’m glad I watched this show.”

As the show is an anthology series, Dot’s story concludes in the finale. What does this mean for the future of the series? Will there be a Fargo Season 6? Here’s everything we know.

Will There Be A Fargo Season 6?

We’re hopeful that there will be another season of Fargo, but it may take a while. Hawley’s show has a dedicated fanbase and strong foundation at FX, so the show is likely to go on until he decides to pull the plug. The latest season also earned several Golden Globe nominations, including Best Limited Series, Best Actor, and Best Actress.

But let’s be clear: FX hasn’t officially renewed Fargo for another season. Maybe it’s because Season 5 had a rocky start due to the WGA and SAG-AFTRA strikes? Or maybe it’s just the norm? Fargo wasn’t renewed for Season 5 until February 2022, which was nearly two years after Season 4 concluded in November 2020.

In a recent interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Hawley spoke about the future of the series. The showrunner expressed that he’s currently working on his upcoming Alien prequel show for FX, and went into creating Fargo Season 5 as if it was the last one. However, he has since changed his mind.

Fargo-Season-5
Photo: FX

“I have as many eyes as I can put on [Alien] right now, but when we had some time when the town shut down, my mind certainly wandered to Fargo again,” Hawley said. “But it’s not where I can put the front of my brain. I entered the fifth season thinking it would be the last one. Even telling FX that it was going to be the last one. But I got it up on its feet and thought: Who am I kidding? This is such a rewarding arena to be constantly reinventing under the auspices of that word, Fargo, to do just about anything as long as it has a couple of elements in it.”

He continued, “There are no restrictions, other than there has to be crime, and there has to be decency. Other than that, the sky’s the limit. I don’t have an idea at this moment, but, they seem to come.”

Well, good things come to those who wait! Based on Fargo‘s track record and Hawley’s recent comments, fans will likely have to wait a couple of years for an update on the anthology show.

Fargo is currently streaming on Hulu.