‘Joy Ride’ Star Ashley Park Nearly Died From “Critical Septic Shock” After A Bout Of “Tonsilitis”: “I Am Grateful That My Health Has Improved”

Where to Stream:

Joy Ride (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Ashley Park is currently enduring recovery from “critical septic shock.”

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the Joy Ride star broke the news on Instagram on Friday, revealing that “while on holiday in December into New Years,” her condition “started as tonsillitis,” and ultimately led to “critical septic shock, which infected and affected several of [her] organs.”

“I am grateful that my health has improved despite what we had initially been told,” she penned.

Park’s post featured Paul Forman, her Emily in Paris co-star and rumored boyfriend, who she expressed immense gratitude to for “being unconditionally by [her] side through all this.”

“You calmed my fears and held me through ambulances, three foreign hospitals, a week in the ICU, scary ERs, countless scans and tests and injections, excruciating pain, and so much confusion all while we were alone on the other side of the world far from those we know,” she wrote. “I love you Paul. More than I can ever say.”

She also thanked “every doctor and ICU nurse who worked tirelessly,” as well as the “@Joali Being team” — presumably the resort she was vacationing at — “for responding immediately and staying with [her] to provide language translations and vital support.”

“Infinite thanks to my personal team of heroes at home who were on calls with insurance, Paul, my parents, and doctors at all hours (you know who you are),” she continued. “I hesitated to share what’s been happening as I’m still in the throes of recovery…but I now know I’m safely on the other side of the worst.”

She concluded her post by apologizing for “being so absent recently,” sending her love, and assuring everyone that she’s “gonna be okay.”

Most recently, Park appeared in Mean Girls as North Shore High French teacher Madame Park, per IMDb. Her co-star Busy Philipps (Mrs. George) wished her well, commenting that she’s “sending [Park] so many healing positive vibes.”

Numerous other stars have flocked to the comments section of Park’s post to send her love, prayers, and strength, such as Paris Hilton, Mindy Kaling, Ken Jeong, and her Only Murders in the Building co-star Selena Gomez. Meanwhile, Lily Collins expressed how “grateful” she is for both her Emily in Paris co-stars, telling Park and Forman that she “cannot wait to hug [them] both.”