Jenna Bush Hager Recalls The Time She Got “Humiliated” At Her Ex-Boyfriend’s Baseball Game: “I Wasn’t Taylor Swift”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

After Taylor Swift showed up to this weekend’s Chiefs game against the Buffalo Bills, Today host Jenna Bush Hager looked back on the time she was “humiliated” at a high school baseball game while supporting her ex-boyfriend.

“I did date several athletes in my day,” Bush Hager confessed to her co-host, Hoda Kotb, clarifying, “They were high school athletes, we don’t need to get all worked up.”

She continued, “In high school, I dated a baseball player and I was at this big game and everyone was there… I was sitting with a friend and all of a sudden a [pop up] ball goes high into the air, right over me.”

“So I get into fetal position, I try to scoot into my friend to save my life. It doesn’t save me,” she said. “It hits me so hard right on the back. It makes like a drumming noise that stops the entire game. People are coming up and like, ‘Are you okay?’ Everybody’s stopped. I’m humiliated.”

The Today host added, “It was one of those things where I wasn’t Taylor Swift, I was like the nerd who couldn’t move fast enough.”

Kotb was more worried about how her boyfriend at the time responded. “My question is, what did he say to you after the game?” she asked.

“I’m sure he was like, ‘Are you okay?’ But I was so humiliated by that moment that it didn’t even matter,” Bush Hager replied. “The humiliation factor of stopping a game because you got hit by the ball… Also, it kind of hurts so you have little tears in your eyes.”

Poor Jenna!

The Today co-hosts spent quite a bit of time discussing Sunday’s game, which included multiple Kelce brother highlights such as Travis Kelce holding up a heart towards Swift after he scored a touchdown, and Jason Kelce taking his shirt off in 18 degree weather.

Bush Hager loved Jason’s major show of support for his brother so much that she admitted that she would “like to be him.”

She said, “At first I was like ew, and Henry was like, come on Jenna, you know you love that. You couldn’t do exactly that but if you could, you would.” 

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.