R.I.P. David Gail: ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’ Star Dead At 58

Where to Stream:

Beverly Hills 90210

Powered by Reelgood

David Gail, the actor best known for his roles on Beverly Hills, 90210 and the General Hospital spinoff Port Charles, has died. He was 58.

Gail’s sister, Katie Colmenares, confirmed the sad news on Instagram. No cause of death was announced.

“There’s barely been even a day in my life when you were not with me by my side always my wingman always my best friend ready to face anything and anyone w me,” Colmenares captioned a photo. “I will hold you so tight every day in my heart you gorgeous loving amazing fierce human.”

She added that she’ll be “missing you every second of every day forever there will never be another.”

Gail appeared in eight episodes of Beverly Hills 90210 Season 4 as Brenda Walsh’s (Shannen Doherty) fiancé Stuart Carson. In 1999, he became the second actor to portray Dr. Joe Scanlon in Port Charles after taking over the role from Michael Dietz.

Aside from his work on the two dramas, Gail also starred in television shows like Growing Pains, Doogie Howser, M.D., ER, and Savannah.

After news of his death broke, Gail’s Hollywood peers paid tribute in the comments section of his sister’s post.

“I was his publicist, but more importantly we were friends and on some level soul mates,” Linda Brown Salomone wrote. “I love David deeply and that won’t ever change. David lit up a room and crawled into people’s souls with an authenticity rarely found in Hollywood actors. A genuine and loving soul – Taken too soon.”

Julie McCullough, who played Gail’s girlfriend in the 1990s drama series Robin’s Hood, recalled living in the same hotel as the actor when they were filming.

“Seems like yesterday we were very happy & working doing what we love,” she commented. “I’m shocked to hear of his passing, he & I are the same age. Sending you & your family & his friends hugs! 🙌🙏❤️‍🩹 “

Director and producer Peter Ferriero remembered Gail as a “kind human” and someone he “wish[ed] he spoke to more.” The Beverly Hills 90210 Show podcast host added, “He was filled of life and incredible stories. I am grateful I got to know [him]. I am so saddened for your loss, and the world’s loss. He was a gift to us all.”