Gayle King Reveals That She Lent $4,000 To A Man She Once Dated For “A Child Support Issue” And Furniture Payment: “I Didn’t Feel The Same”

Gayle King is delving into the difficulties of her dating life.

During an appearance on The Pivot Podcast, King rehashed a date she once went on that she “was really excited about,” per Page Six.

Without naming the anonymous former fling, King recalled, “We had gone out maybe two months, and he said he really needed to talk to me,” noting that “he wanted to have a private conversation.”

She then said that he asked a startling request of her.

“‘Do you think you could lend me $4,000?'” she recalled him asking her.

The broadcast journalist quipped that her fellow famous friend Oprah Winfrey had told her, “God, I would have felt better if he said $40,000!”

All jokes aside, King revealed that she “was crushed.”

“Here’s somebody who is making six figures, successful,” she began, “and when I said, ‘Could I ask what it’s for?’ He said, ‘Yeah, it was for a child support issue and to pay a payment on some furniture.'”

Noting that the conversation took place on a Sunday, she said that her date had “promise[d] to pay [her] back by Thursday.” She ultimately wrote him a check, arguing that “it had to be very difficult for him to ask” her. Although he did live up to his word, she “didn’t feel the same” after the exchange.

“It just changed the relationship for me,” she admitted.

While dating is “difficult” for King, she has also previously opened up about similar struggles when it comes to her friendships.

Last November, she told The Drew Barrymore Show that she had discovered one of her friends was charging people $50,000 to “arrange” meetings with her”behind [her] back.” However, she told host Drew Barrymore that she “came up with the best line” to use in order to “edit your friendships.”

“I said, ‘I don’t think I can be the friend you need me to be,'” she shared.