Sheryl Lee Ralph Tells ‘The View’ Her Dad Kept A Photo Of Her, Whoopi Goldberg Next To His Deathbed: “Claimed You As His Daughter”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Sheryl Lee Ralph revealed an unlikely connection between herself and Whoopi Goldberg during this morning’s episode of The View. The Abbott Elementary star, who stopped by the talk show to promote Season 3 of the ABC hit comedy, revealed to the Hot Topics table that her own father considered Goldberg to be a second daughter.

She dropped the sweet story while telling the co-hosts about her inspirations for her Abbott character, an accomplished teacher named Barbara Howard.

“I have so many role models. My dad — you know, when my dad died, my dad had a picture of you and I by the bed,” she told a smiling Goldberg.

Ralph continued, looking back on the moment she saw the photo with an incredulous look on her face, “And I said, ‘Daddy, why? Why the two of us?'” as the panel cracked up at her story. The tale took a charming turn, though, as she told them, “He said, ‘Same coin, different sides.'”

Putting her hand to her chest, Ralph recalled, “I was like, ‘Oh my god!'” Turning to Goldberg again, she added, “So my dad claimed you as his daughter.”

Goldberg replied, “I love that.”

Ralph went on to name other inspirations for Barbara, her father included, as she listed off her Auntie Carolyn and other teachers she’ll “never forget.”

Sheryl Lee Ralph on The View
Photo: ABC

Earlier this year, Ralph told Good Morning America she would jump at the chance to work with Goldberg again after the two both appeared in Sister Act 2, per Entertainment Weekly.

“Absolutely. Another, Sister Act 3? Absolutely, just ask me,” she said at the time. “Come on, ask me!”

Sure enough, Goldberg popped the question on today’s episode of The View. While revealing that The View producers are planning a 30th anniversary reunion for Sister Act 2, she asked Ralph, “Would you do us the honor of coming back?”

She then dropped that she’s “in the process of putting together” Sister Act 3, and questioned her guest, “Will you come be a part of it, whatever it is?”

The request made Ralph emotional as she began to tear up and exclaim, “Whoopi!”

We’ll take that as a yes.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.