Dakota Johnson’s ‘Office’ Cameo Was “The Worst” Time Of Her Life: “I Was There For Two Weeks”

Where to Stream:

The Office

Powered by Reelgood

Dakota Johnson is circling back on her disappointing cameo in The Office.

The actress stopped by Late Night with Seth Meyers on Wednesday night (Feb. 8), where host Seth Meyers brought up that he and Johnson were “co-stars” in the “final episode of the hit sitcom, per The Wrap. Although Johnson admitted that like many, she “loved” the show, she claimed that filming her cameo “was honestly the worst time of [her] life.”

Johnson took on the small role of an accountant named Dakota, while Meyers was featured in a clip alongside Bill Hader “making fun” of Ed Helms‘ Andy Bernard in a Saturday Night Live: Weekend Update segment. They were only two of a slew of stars who showed up in the 2013 episode.

She recalled being approached about her appearance, which she enthusiastically accepted, while under the impression that she would “show up for, like, half a day.”

“And I was there for two weeks,” she revealed. “And I’m barely in the fucking show.”

Nor was everything sunshine and rainbows for her coworkers, either. When asked by Meyers if those on set were “super sad,” Johnson confirmed as much, but highlighted some “weird dynamics that had been going on for the last 10 years” that she noticed.

“Some people didn’t speak to each other,” she added. “And I’m coming in like, ‘I’m so excited to be here!’ No one wanted to talk to me. No one gave a fuck.”

She continued, “I’m sorry I’m swearing so much! It’s ’cause I had a glass of champagne.”

Meyers returned the swearing, joking that “it was the fucking Office‘s fault” and not Johnson’s. After Johnson recalled being “in the background of all of these scenes faxing things,” Meyers issued his Office finale co-star the ultimate praise.

“Let me tell you, I recently watched it, and it was some of the most believable faxing I’ve ever seen,” he quipped.

Johnson is currently taking on the talk show circuit for Madame Web. As for The Office, the show has been buzzing with rampant reboot rumors, but they were put on pause by showrunner Greg Daniels when he told Collider last October that “it’s very speculative.”

He added, “when there’s something to announce, I will definitely announce it.”

However, sources informed The Hollywood Reporter last month that Daniels is allegedly getting a writers room together to make headway on the project.

Late Night with Seth Meyers airs on weeknights at 12:35/11:35c on NBC. Watch Johnson’s interview above. The Office is streaming on Peacock.