Kyle Richards Reveals Whether She’s Ready To Walk Away From ‘RHOBH’: “Of Course I’m Thinking, ‘Why Would I Do This To Myself?'”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills

Powered by Reelgood

Between Kyle Richards‘ marital issues with Mauricio Umansky and the heartbreaking loss of her lifelong best friend, it’s no secret she has had a difficult season on The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. After more than a decade of appearing on the hit Bravo show, the longtime reality star revealed whether she’s ready to trade in her diamond.

In a new interview with Access Hollywood, host Lauren Herbert asked Richards if she ever felt like she could “take a little break” from the show like fellow Bravolebrity Kandi Burruss, who revealed earlier this week that she would not be returning for the next season of The Real Housewives of Atlanta.

“Yes, I do,” Richards admitted. “I mean, there were times this season I thought, I’m going through such a hard time in my personal life and I have to show up here every day and have everyone coming at me, knowing it’s going to air again in six months and I’m gonna have to live through this again. And then live through the scrutiny and the public and all that. I mean, of course I’m thinking, ‘Why would I do this to myself?'”

While there are a lot of difficult aspects to airing her life on TV, Richards said she’s not ready to walk away from the positive experiences she gets to share with her co-stars.

“But for the moments when we go to Spain and we’re laughing [and] having fun — then I forget about the bad stuff for a bit,” she said, before adding, “That day will come. But I don’t know when it is yet.”

Kyle Richards and Mauricio Umansky
Photo: Getty Images

The Season 13 spotlight has largely been on Richards — especially since news broke that she and her longtime husband Umansky were separated. In last week’s episode, the Halloween star finally began to peel back the layers of what has been going on in her marriage.

“I’ve supported him through everything since day one when he had nothing,” Richards emotionally said in her confessional. “When I told him that we are in trouble and I need you to work through this with me, I needed to feel like I was a priority and we were a priority.”

She added, “If there’s no effort made or put into us, we’re not going to end up together. We’ll never survive this.”

In lighter news, Richards’ older sister (and Seasons 11 and 12 fan favorite) Kathy Hilton made a surprise appearance at the group’s Season 13 reunion, which was taped recently.

“We had talked about it before that and you know, we’re in a good place so it made sense for her to come especially after the way we left off last season,” Richards told Access Hollywood. “[She has been] very supportive. I get messages from her all the time saying, ‘I love you,’ ‘You’re my baby sister,’ and ‘I’m here for you no matter what.'”

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills airs every Wednesday night at 8 p.m. ET. New episodes are available to stream the next day on Peacock.