‘Love Is Blind’s Matthew and Clay Are Perfect Pod Villains For Season 6

Where to Stream:

Love is Blind

Powered by Reelgood

Matthew walking out of the pods while in the middle of conversations? Clay asking women about their appearance? The first episode of Love Is Blind Season 6 made it so, so easy to pinpoint the latest pod villains.

The new season of the hit Netflix reality show premiered Feb. 14, 2024 with six new episodes and will continue to air on Wednesdays until the finale.

The first chunk of episodes take place predominately in the pods and the vacation resort in Dominican Republic, where the couples go after getting engaged.

But before even leaving the pods, two men made it clear that they can’t be trusted.

First, there’s Matthew, a 37-year-old financial advisor, who brings a list of questions to his first pod dates. He asks the women to pick a number and answer the corresponding question.

When Jessica, a 29-year-old executive assistant, answers and then asks the question back, Matthew goes blank. “You know, I was just gonna ask the questions, I wasn’t really anticipating getting the same one back,” he explains.

At this point, Matthew is shown getting up and leaving the room.

“This experiment, I didn’t really know what to expect but I knew it was going to be incredibly hard,” he explains in an interview. “Having conversations about our emotions is probably not somewhere I excel.” Well, you picked the wrong show.

Matthew-leaving-pods-Love-Is-Blind
Photo: Netflix

Next, Matthew enters a conversation with Sarah Anne, a 30-year-old customer support manager, and brings out his list of questions again. As she delivers a detailed response to the question, which is about short-term goals, Matthew grows visibly antsy before making a sneaky exit from the room.

Sarah Anne seemingly hears the door shut as she finishes her answer and asks, “Are you there?” After being met with silence, she mouths, “He’s gone! Thank fucking god.”

Love-Is-Blind-Sarah-Ann-Matthew
Photo: Netflix

It seems that Matthew is quite new to the dating scene, but that’s certainly not the response one wants to get after a first date.

Then there’s 31-year-old entrepreneur Clay, who’s unproblematic for the most part, but in early pod dates with Amber Desiree “AD,” a 33-year-old real estate broker, he commits the Love Is Blind cardinal sin by asking her about her looks.

“I just feel like my worst fear is, like, we fall in love and we have this beautiful connection and then we do the reveal, and it’s like… we never really talked about physically, which is important to me,” Clay tells AD in the pods. “I just want to have that reveal door, and like, be super turned on by my wife. You know?”

AD asks, “In what way do you want to talk about appearance in an experiment where we’re not talking about appearance?”

Clay responds, “I just have to be attracted to you.”

AD-Love-Is-Blind
Photo: Netflix

When AD asks Clay to describe the women he’s attracted to, and he says, “I lean towards more petite… my favorite attributes are lips… but that sounds so shallow…. If I’m gonna proposed, that’s something I need to know. Regardless of the emotional.”

AD says, “I personally don’t want to sell myself based off my physical attributes, that, to me defeats the purpose. I understand if that’s not going to work for you. I understand that to you, personally, as the man that you are, looks are everything…”

Clay-Love-Is-Blind
Photo: Netflix

She later reflects to the cameras, “I do have a very basic name and a super soft voice. I can be literally anything. Somebody trying to guess exactly what I look is a turn off for me because that’s not what we’re here for.”

Do Matthew and Clay find their matches? You’ll have to watch the show to find out. But for now, we’ll just say that these two have left a poor first impression.

Love Is Blind is currently streaming on Netflix.