Host Mix-Up On ‘Today With Hoda & Jenna’ Sees Rita Ora Filling In Last-Minute As She Admits, “They Asked Us Backstage”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Today With Hoda & Jenna started off with a big mix-up during Thursday’s (Feb. 15) broadcast, but you almost couldn’t tell due to the great chemistry Hoda Kotb had with her guest co-host, U.K. singer and actor Rita Ora.

“You are just a lovely human being so I just want to say: Welcome to the co-host chair, how does it feel?” Kotb asked Ora.

She replied, “Oh, it feels so warm! I feel so comfortable already… Well, you know, being from across the pond this is like everything we watch on TV so I’m so happy. Hello America! It’s me, Rita.”

The co-hosts really hit it off considering Kotb revealed Ora was asked to co-host just “five minutes before we went on the air.” Kelly Rowland was expected to co-host to promote her upcoming movie Mea Culpa, while Ora would have appeared later on in the episode to promote the new season of The Masked Singer.

Instead, Ora also stepped in as co-host, possibly launching the start of her new career as a talk show personality.

“I didn’t even know this was happening,” Ora admitted once she sat down with Kotb for her interview later on in the broadcast. “Everyone watching, this has just been so much fun. They asked us backstage and I’m just like, ‘I love Hoda! Here we are, and now I’m with you for a whole hour!'”

Kotb did not explain why Rowland was no longer able to appear on the show. She also did not clarify why her usual co-host Jenna Bush Hager wasn’t there.

But the Today host appeared to be enjoying herself. She praised Ora for gracefully filling in as co-host, and hinted that there may be a talk show in her future.

“I feel like there’s a lot of talk show in you and I’m gonna say that because I’ve only sat with you for the first time. You joined this chat five minutes before we went on the air and everything’s been clicking,” Kotb said. “So, I’m just gonna put this out in the universe, because I believe if you say things, you speak them into existence and into reality. Is this something that you enjoy doing?”

Ora replied, “I love, love doing this. You’ve been a big inspiration to me… I just love people, I love laughing, maybe I talk a bit too much. But let’s do it, let’s manifest.”

Ora and Kotb then joined hands and pretended to manifest her next career: Hosting her own talk show.

Kotb did not clarify when Bush Hager should be expected back on the show. A guest co-host has not been announced for tomorrow, though Curb Your Enthusiasm star J.B. Smoove will make an appearance.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.