Rita Ora Tells ‘The View’ That Husband Taika Waititi Was Worried His Friends Would “Never Respect” Him Again After Dressing Up As Shrek: “He’s Pretty Legit In His Industry”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Taika Waititi wasn’t exactly thrilled when his wife Rita Ora made him dress up as Shrek when they stayed in an Airbnb replica of the green ogre’s house. According to the singer, the Oscar-winning director was worried his Hollywood pals would “never respect” him again after they posted the hilarious photos.

On this morning’s episode of The View, Ora — who happens to be a Shrek superfan — revealed that it was her idea to travel to Scotland to spend a night in Shrek’s swamp.

“Guys, I’m so sorry. Being married to me is hard. You kind of have to do what I want or you’re in trouble,” she said. “I said to him, ‘OK, we’re gonna do this little trip. It’s super fun.’ I’m obsessed with Shrek.”

As it turned out, the house was in the middle of nowhere, freezing and had mice on the floor, according to Ora, who said she was “super freaking out.” However, she noted that that wasn’t the worst part of their stay.

“I get the costumes, I put them in my bag, obviously I don’t tell my husband,” she recalled. “He went to the bathroom, came back and I was green. He said, ‘OK, what is happening?’ I said, ‘Put this on. We have to do this for memory. There’s only one time we’ll be able to stay in literally a swamp.’ And so I made him do the whole thing.”

She continued, “He said, ‘You’re embarrassing me and all my friends are gonna literally never respect me again.’ He’s pretty legit in his industry and I just had to bring him back down to earth.”

The Masked Singer panelist later joked that the groundskeepers “may have thought” they were fulfilling some sort of Shrek-related kink.

“I was like, ‘No, that’s not it! This is me just being a fan of Shrek!’” Ora clarified. “It was so much fun. If you don’t take yourself seriously, that’s what life’s all about.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.