Sunny Hostin Clashes With ‘The View’ After Calling Out Nikki Haley’s Emotional Speech About Her Husband: “I Don’t Trust Her Authenticity”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Joy Behar diagnosed Sunny Hostin with a “dark heart” on this morning’s episode of The View after the former prosecutor called BS on Nikki Haley‘s tear-filled speech about her military husband, who is currently deployed overseas.

While Sara Haines praised Haley for the “authentic moment” in her speech in which she became choked up while discussing her husband, Hostin wasn’t as quick to buy the Republican candidate’s tears.

“The operative word is ‘authentic’ for me,” Hostin said. “And I think Nikki Haley has been inauthentic from day one.”

She continued, “She has flip-flopped. She raised her hand and said that she would vote for [Donald] Trump, which I thought was disqualifying then. She has refused to say that she would not endorse him. She had the slavery gaffes over and over again. This is a woman that I don’t find authentic at all.”

When Haines clarified that she was “referring just to this moment” when she commended Haley’s authenticity, Hostin revealed that she was also commenting on the emotional moment.

“Her husband is serving in counter-terrorism in Africa,” Alyssa Farah Griffin chimed in, to which Hostin added, “I think there’s something that military families go through. I come from a military family as many of us do. I don’t trust her authenticity.”

Meanwhile, Haines tried to get Hostin to step into Haley’s shoes as the wife of someone serving in the military.

“But you trust that if your husband was gone and your kids were missing — she was saying, ‘I wish my kids could see him tonight.’ You know how that feels,” she said.

However, Hostin still wasn’t buying it.

“No, I didn’t feel that it was authentic and I didn’t trust it,” she doubled down.

'The View'
Photo: ABC

Even Behar said she thought it was “a real moment” from Haley.

“I guess I have a dark heart,” Hostin shrugged, before Behar replied, “Yeah, you do. On this particular topic you do. Not normally.”

Because Haley’s approval ratings skyrocketed after she fired back at Trump for mocking her husband, Hostin felt as though her tears were another ploy to move up in the 2024 presidential race.

“I read into that moment — ‘If I now throw in a little tear, my approval ratings will go up again,'” she said. “I’m a curmudgeon. I admit it. But that’s how I read that moment.”

Griffin, meanwhile, shook her head in disapproval, adding, “Those of us who have been to war zones, when you think of someone you love being there, you don’t need to fake it. That is genuine fear and missing them.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.