Chelsea Peretti Shuts Down Jenna Bush Hager On ‘Today’ During Hilarious Conversation About Parenting: “I Would Never Let My Son Speak To Me Like That”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Chelsea Peretti visited Today to promote her upcoming movie First Time Female Director. But her conversation with Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager took a hilarious turn when Bush Hager asked about her six-year-old son.

“I hear that we have something in common,” she told Peretti. “My son’s been gaslighting me pretty regularly, do you also get that?”

Peretti replied, “Yeah I’m often speechless.” She added that she’s been trying to teach him the importance of hygiene and brushing your teeth, but “he’s not too interested.”

Kotb then cut in to ask, “Does he do what Jenna’s son does, when Jenna’s son says, ‘Can you bring me that book?’ And when Jenna goes to get it, he goes, ‘I don’t want that book!'”

“He’s a manipulator!” said Bush Hager, who has accused her kids of gaslighting her multiple times on Today.

Peretti, who shares a son with director Jordan Peele, swiftly shut Bush Hager down.

“Jenna, no disrespect,” she said. “I would never let my son speak to me like that.” Bush Hager and Kotb laughed in response.

After Bush Hager later told them that her four-year-old sometimes guilts her for going out to dinner without him, Peretti responded, “Oh yeah, [my son will] be like, ‘I don’t want you to have date night.’ And I’m like, ‘Well, too bad. I have to have a life, I’m sorry,'” sparking even more laughter from the Today hosts.

The comedian and former Brooklyn Nine-Nine star also shared what it was like directing her husband, who makes a small cameo in her film.

“I told him there’s no such thing as a small role,” Peretti joked. “I wanted him to feel important and I think we achieved that.” She later joked that Peele was number 78 on the call sheet.

Peretti’s new film First Time Female Director, which marks her directorial debut, premieres on the Roku Channel March 8.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.