‘Good Times’ Star John Amos Denies Being A Victim Of Neglect After Daughter Opens Investigation: “The Real Truth Will Come Out Soon”

Where to Stream:

Good Times

Powered by Reelgood

John Amos is once again hitting back at “false” claims that he is a victim of elder abuse. His statement comes days after TMZ reported that an investigation had been opened into his daughter Shannon’s allegations that her brother K.C. was failing to provide proper care for their father.

According to TMZ, Shannon recently called Adult Protective Services to allege that the 84-year-old Amos was struggling with health issues and his son was not providing the care he needed. The report was ultimately sent over to the Los Angeles Police Department, which opened up a case.

However, the Good Times alum insisted in a statement to People that there is nothing to worry about.

“I want to first say that I am feeling well and working diligently on various projects that I am involved in at this time, including the docuseries that my son and I are producing, along with a music release,” he began.

Amos continued, “I’d like to add that everywhere we go together, people refer to my son K.C. as my twin. I’m proud of him for who he is as a person: a caring, thoughtful human being who respects me and I him.”

He concluded, “Now, I will say this for now: This story about neglect is false and unmerited. The real truth will come out soon and you will hear it from me. Believe it.”

This isn’t the first time Amos has addressed rumors about his well-being. Back in June 2023, Shannon claimed he was hospitalized in the ICU with his “life hanging by a thread.” She alleged that was the “victim of elder abuse and financial exploitation,” before asking for donations via GoFundMe to help with the costs of his “care, legal fees, and aftercare.”

John Amos and daughter Shannon
Photo: Getty Images

Less than a week later, Amos denied ever going to the ICU and urged the removal of the GoFundMe.

“To all of my fans, I want you to know that I am doing well. I am not in ICU, nor was I ever fighting for my life,” he said in a statement to People. “First, I want the GoFundMe campaign about me to stop immediately and the funds subsequently returned to those who made donations. My son and I will reveal more information at the appropriate time.”

He later claimed Shannon is the one he would “attribute” his “elderly abuse to” — not his son. In response, her reps said she is “disheartened at the continuation of false and defamatory statements being made against her.”

Still, Amos was hopeful that his family would mend their fractured relationships.

“Right now, it is somewhat acrimonious, but never mind what you might read or hear about in the paper or on this medium or that medium platform,” he told People at the time. “Suffice it to say we are still family, and we love each other, and that’s the bottom line.”