Nika King Reveals She’s “Booked Nothing” Since Starring In ‘Euphoria’: “I Thought My Career Was On The Rise”

Where to Stream:

Euphoria

Powered by Reelgood

Nika King did not hold back during a recent improv set when she addressed fans’ concerns about the severely delayed new season of Euphoria.

During a comedy set at the Hollywood Improv Lab, King (who plays the mother of Zendaya‘s troubled teen character Rue) candidly spoke on the state of her career since booking the star-maker HBO series.

“People are like, ‘We need Season 3!’ Bitch, I need Season 3,” she said in a clip shared to her TikTok account. She then jokingly added, “I haven’t paid my rent in six months, and Zendaya’s over in Paris at Fashion Week. I’m like, ‘Bitch, come home! I need you!’”

King later confessed in the set that she struggled to get work despite delivering a memorable performance on the show.

“Y’all laughing and I’m serious, I haven’t booked nothing since Euphoria. This is some bullshit,” she said. “I thought my career was on the rise after Euphoria. I thought I was good. It don’t work that way.”

She then joked that she also called Taraji P. Henson, who recently opened up about her own struggles landing work and earning fair pay, despite her decades in the industry.

Though Euphoria creator Sam Levinson is already confirmed to have started writing Season 3, multiple Euphoria stars have confessed that they don’t know how far along the new season is.

Series star Colman Domingo recently shed some light on Levinson’s writing process in an interview with GQ.

“[Sam is] a person who writes and rewrites and writes and rewrites again, because I think he’s wrestling with what’s important,” he said. “He’s responding immediately to what the ills of the world are. I know that the one thing I can tell you is that he’s very much interested in the existential question of who we are right now. Our souls. That’s what he wants to figure out with Season 3.”

This seems in line with Levinson’s previous statements about what to expect in the new season, which he teased would be “film noir” in which Rue will “explore what it means to be an individual with principles in a corrupt world.”

For now, Euphoria Season 3 is slated for a 2025 premiere.

But if it faces any further delays, they may just have to use Jacob Elordi‘s idea and “Benjamin Button” some of their young stars so they can still play high schoolers, as he joked during a recent appearance on The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon.