‘The View’: Rita Moreno Credits “B*tches” In Show Business For Inspiring Her “Mean” Role In ‘The Prank’

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Rita Moreno put aside her bubbly and fun personality to play a strict physics teacher in the new dark comedy The Prank. While promoting the film on this morning’s episode of The View, the actress credited other “bitches” in Hollywood for inspiring her mean-spirited character.

Moreno’s confession came after co-host Sunny Hostin asked “how much fun” she had playing such a “scary” woman.

“I just thought, ‘How am I gonna play this terrible, terrible mean person?'” Moreno recalled. “I thought of all the women in my life, particularly in show business, who had really been awful to me. All of these bitches.”

She continued, “I thought, I’m gonna use all of the things that they did to me … And that’s what I do. And boy, was that fun!”

When Ana Navarro asked her to list the names of celebrities who wronged her, Moreno revealed that there were “too many, unfortunately.”

Moderator Whoopi Goldberg then chimed in to praise the star for never treating others in the same disrespectful manner in which she was treated.

“The greatest thing — probably one of the greatest things — about Rita Moreno is that whatever they did to her, she did not do to others,” Goldberg said. “She was like this to others. I was an other and this is what she did to me. So, I learned from the best.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

The Prank, which comes to theaters March 15, stars Moreno as Mrs. Wheeler, a strict physics teacher whose students exact revenge on her by framing her on social media for the murder of a missing student.

“I’m excited for fans to see this unexpected performance from Rita Moreno in this dark comedy,” director Maureen Bharoocha said in a statement to People. “The Prank is filled with thrills and laughs, but Rita’s deliciously devilish performance is not to be missed.”

She added, “Her talent and energy is unparalleled and it’s in an understatement to say working with the legendary EGOT winner was a dream come true.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.