‘Today’s Jenna Bush Hager Gets Jealous About Hoda Kotb Hanging Out With Savannah Guthrie: “What About Me?”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Jenna Bush Hager could not hide her jealousy on Today when she spoke about her co-host Hoda Kotb appearing with Savannah Guthrie on The Tonight Show.

“I’m happy you made it to work today because you have been busy,” Bush Hager told Kotb. “It makes me feel good that I still have time in your calendar.”

She continued teasing Kotb, who celebrated the release of her new children’s book, Hope is a Rainbow, yesterday.

“Last night you were at Jimmy Fallon. You went with Savannah, which I’m not… you know…,” she said, playfully hinting that she was feeling a bit jealous about Kotb and Guthrie. “Remember how you sometimes get mad at me?”

Kotb asked her, “You’re not mad?”

Guthrie and Kotb co-host Today, where they’ve covered the news together since Kotb joined in 2018 to replace Matt Lauer after he was accused of sexual misconduct.

Bush Hager later continued her tirade about Kotb’s busy release day, which also included a full cover story and spread in People magazine. “Then I was, you know, hanging around, and I saw Hoda in People magazine,” she continued. “I love all of this, although it seems like it’s just a picture of you and Savannah.”

Kotb laughed as Bush Hager inspected the picture of them in the magazine. “Still a team, huh?” Bush Hager said. “What about me?”

Jenna Bush Hager shocked
Photo: NBC

The Today hosts shared a sweet moment during Monday’s broadcast as they looked back on when Kotb’s daughter Hope was hospitalized in the ICU.

Kotb shared that she wrote a letter to her daughter, which she does every year, describing “what they’re like at that particular age.” She said, “I was writing one for Hope and I was just talking about how incredible and resilient she is and what she’s overcome in the past year, and how she’s braver than she ever even imagine.

The co-hosts grew increasingly emotional as Bush Hager replied, “When I was just listening to you say all of that about your precious daughter, it’s also about you, too. You are stronger than you were a year ago, you are braver than you ever thought possible.”

She added as Kotb began to cry, “You’re also softer, more gentle, more open. I have chills thinking about it because I was listening to you and I’m like, ‘She’s also talking about herself.’”

Both hosts had tears in their eyes as Bush Hager continued, “Isn’t that weird how our kids can bring us to this place where we are better than we were before?”

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.